stylish blogger award

Who knew there were such things asblogging awards! I was pleasantly surprised when my blogging friend Priya, of Partial View honored me with astylish blogger award.

What is a stylish blogger award? Even though a google search gave me over a million results, I couldn’t find where and how it started. As far as I can tell it seems to have been around for a couple of years, and is a nice way for bloggers to connect, because the award is given by one’s blogging peers.

Thank you Priya. It’s a great honor to be recognized by you, someone I’ve never met, who lives half way round the world, and just knows me by the words and photos on my blog.

This isn’t an award I can just stick on the fridge, there are ‘rules’ that come with it, work that I have to do

  • Make a post and link back to the person who gave you the award
  • Share 7 things about yourself.
  • Award 5 great bloggers.
  • Contact these bloggers and tell them they’ve won

Share 7 things about yourself.

1. I tried to live in a cold country, but I failed because in the winter my fingers and toes were always icy cold, which meant that if for example, we went on a skiing holiday, I would happily spend the week keeping warm in the cabin reading a nice long book (that’s where I read “A suitable boy!”), while Mr F and the kids enjoyed the snow.

beautiful to look at

2. If you’ve been following this blog you’d already know that I love trees, the first green buds in the spring,  the blossoms/flowers,  the red and yellow colors in the fall, even the bare branches, and walking on a carpet of leaves, but when we lived in the frozen north I hated seeing the first red leaves in autumn, because it meant the start of the long, freezing winter. I think part of me died with those dead leaves. Where I live now I can appreciate the magnolia’s in January, smell orange blossoms in February, enjoy the jasmine in March, the Jacaranda’s in the spring, the pink silk floss tree in the fall…

3.  Mr F’s an excellent cook, and does most of the cooking.

4. I was on the swim team when I was 13. I swam the backstroke.

5. When I was 25 I felt really old, and challenged myself to ride a horse for the first time, have my ears pierced, and left my birth country.

6. I can drive a stick shift, but living in L.A. with the horrible +one hour commute I have to face every day, I am so glad someone invented automatic cars.

7. I’ve always wanted to live in a house on a hill overlooking the ocean.

Malibu on New Year’s day (photo credit H. Peckos)

And the best part, I get to pass the award onto 5 great bloggers. Blogging is so lonely, we sit at our keyboards and talk to ourselves, yet these people, whom I’ve never met,  some of whom live at the other end of the world and I would walk past if I bumped into them on the street,  I know really well from reading their carefully placed words.

Betty Londergan’s What Gives 365

Barbara Abercrombie’s Writing Time

Corilee Fox’s Playin the Edge.

Linda Leinen‘s Shoreacres

and even though I don’t know her name, just that she lives on a farm in S. Dakota,  The Simple Life of a Country Man’s Wife.

.

Finally contact the bloggers

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Tutto va bene, Wondering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to stylish blogger award

  1. Damyanti says:

    My first visit to your blog, and I already know so much about you 🙂

    Came here via Linda’s blog, and am so glad I did! I’ll be back to read more posts.

  2. Priya says:

    I enjoyed reading this post, because it tells more about you. But mostly because you like trees. Not many people list them in their I Like lists!
    Some thoughts on your points about yourself – A Suitable Boy can be a depressing read in so much snow! Was it? It is ruthlessly long, is it not?
    And, 25 is quite an age, isn’t it? Just the right amount of dare-devilry and maturity to do what you’d otherwise not have done.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks for your comment Priya. I wonder how many people make up their 7 things?
      I read A Suitable Boy many years ago but I think its about 1500 pages,
      and if you’re shut up in a cabin in the snow, its marvelous to have a book like that to disappear into.

  3. Corilee says:

    Thanks Rosie, i appreciate it. And i learned things about you I never knew!

    • dearrosie says:

      The best part of the exercise was being able to recognize hard working bloggers like you Corilee. Yours was the first blog I followed, and I’ve learned a lot (and laughed a lot) from reading it all these years.

      Interesting how a little list could tell you things about me that you didn’t know

  4. Mahalia says:

    Mazletov on your blogging award! And lovely to read your 7 things.
    Geez, you were a brave old 25 yr old! Really. Even though it seems funny now to feel old at 25.

    Me? I continue to try to live in Canada, where the snow is falling beautifully outside, and the skiing trails are lovely. It is great as long as you dress for it. However, i still enjoy it much more when i get to escape to the sunny south at a certain point in the winter.

    • dearrosie says:

      Yeah isn’t it funny how we think 25’s so old!

      Your description of Canada makes it sound so lovely – snow falling beautifully and lovely ski trails. I’m glad you’re enjoying it, but lucky you that you’re able to escape to the sunny south

  5. shoreacres says:

    What a kind gesture, Rosie! I appreciate the mention, but I’ve really enjoyed reading your list, and the other folks’ comments.

    I haven ‘t read it yet, but I laughed to see a post entitled “Would you drive 60 miles for an ice cream?” It appears the answer is yes, and if so, you’re my kind of woman. Ice cream to me is a combination of the elixir of life and the staff of life. I love ice cream, and have been known to compose posts with a huge bowl of it in front of me.

    There! Now you know something already!

    • dearrosie says:

      Pleased to know you’re also an ice cream lover. I don’t know where you live, but if you ever come to L.A I’d love to take you for a Grom gelato. It really is worth the 60 mile drive.

  6. Val Erde says:

    I love trees too, and couldn’t live anywhere where there weren’t any. We’re lucky here, there are lots of them including a forest up the hill to the front of our house.
    🙂
    Well done on the award!

  7. Dinah says:

    Dear Rosie,
    Warmest congratulations on your Stylish Blogger Award!!! You so deserve it. I think it’s great that bloggers all over the world have started to connect this way — by being acknowledged. What a great idea!
    Best,
    Dinah

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

