Monte Carlo and the camera

Monte Carlo loves standing on his back legs. Was he in the circus before living with us?

 

Monte Carlo is the newest member of our family – we adopted him at a Petco store the week before Christmas. He’s a Manchester Terrier,  between 2 to 4 years old, and poor thing had been at the shelter since June.  He’s a very smart, very affectionate dog, and has adapted quickly to living chez nous, although he still has to learn not to eat garbage on the street, and that walking on the leash like a gentleman means one doesn’t chase after squirrels.

Mr F was at a meeting this morning, and when I went out, I didn’t put Monte Carlo in his crate, but left him to roam in the kitchen/dining room as we’ve been doing the past couple of weeks.  Big mistake! Although he was only alone for about half an hour he managed to have a jolly good time playing with the contents of Mr F’s briefcase (which was lying on the floor in the dining room). He chewed the soft leather glasses case into shreds, luckily without damaging the glasses,  but then he found Mr F’s less-than-a-year-old Canon camera, in its nice soft leather case which he obviously enjoyed chewing because you can see his teeth marks all over the front of the camera, and the LCD glass at the back is cracked, so if you switch it on… well, you can’t switch it on.

When I came home and Mr F showed me the dog’s handiwork, I said,”If Monte Carlo had chewed my camera, I would’ve sent him back to the shelter.”  Mr F was horrified that I’d say something so mean. Of course I wouldn’t be so mean to send him back, but my briefcase was also lying on the floor in the dining room, and if he had chewed up my glasses and camera, I don’t think I’d be able to forgive the dog as quickly as Mr F did.  Could you?

 

Mr F and Monte Carlo

Although I have a lovely desk in the spare room, I prefer to write at the dining table, because I can see the garden, and I love to watch the humming birds visiting the flowers, which reminds me, did I tell you that a hummingbird flew into my house a couple of weeks ago?

Elizabeth and I were sitting at the table eating lunch when the bird darted in, fluttered around the living room, and flew straight out.

It took our breath away.

Have Mr F and I learned our lesson and put everything out of reach of the dog?   Besides my briefcase, all my computer cords and cables and whatnot are lying on the floor next to my chair. How can I protect them from the terrier’s little busy teeth? I can’t put the extension cord and all the various plugs on the table.  And if find something like a shoebox to cover them with, will it be an invitation for an inquisitive dog?

 

 

blossoms on yesterday's walk

 

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Photography, The Natural World, Wondering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Monte Carlo and the camera

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Oh no Mr. MC!! Do you think he would still chew stuff while he was in your company? He never showed any desire to chew or get into anything while I was with him in the afternoons. I guess while you guys are away, putting him in his crate might be the best option so the little guy is safe from dangers and your personal items remain intact. Oh the joys of having a canine companion!

    The blossoms from yesterdays walk are gorgeous!! Oh Cali how I miss thee.

    The humingbird was beautiful and I think of that day often!

    • dearrosie says:

      Nice to hear from you Elizabeth. Oh yes Monte Carlo will be sitting in his crate whenever I go out. I understand that he’s a terrier and has a lot of energy but eating a camera is not on the menu!
      I’m so glad I could share the hummingbird’s visit with you. It was magical, don’t you think so?
      Glad to know someone noticed the blossom photo.

  2. Congrats on your new son!!! wow, sounds like an active boy … have a blast with him! xooxo b

  3. E fullstop says:

    I can’t wait to meet Monte Carlo! And I’m very curious about the name. Did you name him or was he thus christened in his previous life?

    Oh, the blossoms are evergreen pear (Pyrus kawakamii — an ornamental tree…not the fruiting kind). They bloom beautifully like almond trees in January and early February.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank god for people like E fullstop who can identify the trees for us. A flowering pear? Why did I think they were flowering cherries? are those blossoms pink?

      Be sure to hide your camera when you come to meet Monte Carlo.

  4. Priya says:

    Looks like Monte Carlo is going to give you enough doggy memories to last a long time. Enjoy!

    I decided to play along with a blog chain. You’re a part of it, so visit my latest post!

  5. Val Erde says:

    I’m afraid I’d be more than annoyed if a doggie (or cattie or any other kind of ie) ate or chewed my camera. Or anything else come to that. I have some problems with my sisters dogs trying to chew me, but as I don’t have any pets apart from the so-called wildlife outside our house, things are mostly okay. Well apart from whatever it was that got into my going-out bag and gnawed its way into my rice cakes that I keep for en-route munchies.

    A humming bird in your house! Wow! Lucky it got out of its own accord. I wonder what it was looking for?

    • dearrosie says:

      I’d really love to know why the hummingbird flew into my house.
      It was a magical experience, almost as if a fairy had flown in, and I’m so glad Elizabeth was here to share it with me.

  6. cindy says:

    How wonderful a new doggie for your family.
    MC looks so energetic and so handsome! He sounds like he is still a teenager getting into lots of trouble, not understanding boundaries.

    Rosie thank you so much for posting the picture of the blossoms! So nice to see the stunning blue sky in the back ground too. It has been so cloudy and over cast and cold here in TO.
    sending you warm hugs, cindy

  7. dearrosie says:

    I’m sorry you’re having such a cold winter Cin. I’ll have to include more blossom photos.

    We’ve never had a little dog before. MC’s smart, and when you walk him you almost have to run to keep up with him.

  8. Boris says:

    I think Monte Carlo was acting out. He knew that the day’s activities were supposed to include him, and he made his statement.

    • dearrosie says:

      I don’t know Boris. Monte Carlo’s a dog, he can’t differentiate between a Monday and a Saturday, and whether he thought “hello, today’s a weekend, I should be included in the fun,” doesn’t excuse him from eating the camera.

  9. Pingback: I wrote another “Etheree” poem: “Wise Woman” | Wondering Rose

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

