orchids, sunsets and bunnies

orchid on my patio wall

I bought this orchid at Trader Joes last year, when the flowers died, I put it outside on the patio and didn’t do any more than water it. One day in October I looked up and saw it had burst into bloom, three month’s later it’s still flowering outside on the wall. A beautiful gift from nature.

These notices are on trees all over our neighborhood:

Lost Bunny

We know the bunny very well – after all we saw him almost every day. It was so cute to see him sitting at the bottom of a garden at the corner of our street. I kept meaning to take a photo but… Last year Mr F and I saw a couple feeding him carrots. They told us that he was originally their pet who’d escaped, and although he’d allow the man to feed him, they hadn’t been able to catch him.

I hope I’m wrong, but I have the feeling he ended up as someone’s dinner.

Ron and Bob

I had a fun 30 minutes today with Bob and Ron while they tried to guess where I’m from. I thought it was so easy, but they didn’t get it in three guesses, or even in ten.   I’m not from Lebanon, France or Ireland.

In my post earlier this month Why are the birds falling from the sky? Dinah wrote in a comment that we should look at the Sunset collage in the New York Times Magazine of January 5, 2011. Here it is:

‘‘Sunset Portraits. From 8,462,359 Sunset Pictures on Flickr, 12/21/10’’

‘Sunset Portraits' - Colalge by Penelope Umbrico

I find it hard to take in that over eight million people uploaded their sunset photos to Flicker in ONE day!  Unbelievable.

I was interested to see that the photos all have someone posed in front of the sunset. I like to just photograph the sky without humans.

last Mondays' sunset -from Griffith Park

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Wondering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to orchids, sunsets and bunnies

  1. Priya says:

    I love your sensibilities.

    May I use the sunset and the orchid as my wallpaper? (I’ll crop them a little). Say yes, please.

  2. dearrosie says:

    I’d be honored to know my photo’s on your desktop Priya. I don’t know where you live but I hope if it’s somewhere cold, that it brings some warmth in your home.

    • Priya says:

      Thank you, Rosie.

      I live in a cold part of India, which is about to get so hot that the orchids won’t survive. 🙂

      ps: I hope the bunny’s found and that your misgivings are unfounded!

  3. Boris says:

    Dear Bunny of Clybourn,
    It seems you’ve been taken (against your free will) from the territory that you successfully claimed as yours (with some help from your ex-owners) for all those years. You were a free Bunny, a regular and prominent presence in your glossy white coat. The Club of Free Urban Bunnies must be a small one in LA, even smaller the number of large, white Free Urban Bunnies, so close to Griffith Park and the Freeway, and the cars, relentless traffic at all hours. Then there are the dogs, mostly too small, slow or clumsy, not so capable as to be a match for you; but occasionally there comes a hard-wired, genetically programmed small mammal killer (like our friends Millie or Monty), who, if unleashed, could have hunted you down, dug you out and ended your free life at any moment (but we know that they, at least, did not!.). Finally, we know that Coyotes have been seen on our streets. These superb survivors have all the skills necessary to make a meal of you.
    My admiration goes out to you, dear Bunny of Clybourn, for the free life you’ve lived. I hope that your end was a quick and peaceful one, and that your children are many, with a chance at a life as happy as yours.

  4. dearrosie says:

    Thanks Boris, that’s a beautiful tribute to the bunny. I hope a coyote didn’t get him…

  5. Don’t these 8 million people WORK? who has time to upload (much less download, much less TAKE) all these pictures?? it’s really cool, though.
    I’m betting the bunny shows up — no Fatal Attraction ending for him!
    I’m SO jealous you got your orchid to bloom again!! I’ve never been able to accomplish that! Lovely post, Rosie dear!! xoxoxo b

  6. dearrosie says:

    I will certainly let y’all know if bunny shows up. I do hope so but I’m not holding my breath…

    I’ve only had two or three orchids re-blooming on my patio. Its amazing that it bloomed and for so long as I don’t give it fertilizer.
    Thanks for writing Betty.

  7. Val Erde says:

    That orchid is fabulous! We’ve a cheapo white one in our bathroom that graces us with some tiny blooms a few times a year, when it feels like it! I clicked on your photo of your orchid to open it up and look at it better. Beautiful!

    Yep, I’m with you about photographing sunsets without people in them. Weird. That said, often I prefer to just enjoy the sunset as it is without photographing it.
    🙂
    Poor bunny.
    😦

  8. dearrosie says:

    I’m impressed that you can get your bathroom orchids to bloom again. Inside is really hard.
    Trader Joe’s orchid are also cheapo.

    I think it’s because the sunsets have been so spectacular this winter that I’ve been photographing them

    Still no word on the bunny….

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

