Would you drive 60 miles for an ice cream? I did…

It’s true, I’ll own up, even if it wasn’t in the 80’s last weekend I would’ve driven the thirty miles each way for the ice cream, but not just any old ice cream mind you, I’m not that crazy, I do know goodice cream” is available all over the city. After I heard that GROM, the Italian gelati chain we discovered in Turin had opened a branch in Malibu, I had to go check it out, as I said to Mr F, “Hey it’s cheaper than flying to Italy for gelato, and I’m overdue for a walk on the beach.” 

What is GROM?  In 2003 Federico Grom and Guido Martinetti decided to make gelato with natural and seasonal ingredients after they heard Carlo Petrini (the founder of Slow Food), complaining that gelato or artisanal ice cream, was practically extinct

GROM in Malibu

GROM’s  mission is to make gelato the slow, old-fashioned way, with top quality, mainly Italian, seasonal ingredients, and no artificial colorings and preservatives: hazelnuts from Piedmont, pistachios from Sicily, and lemons from the Amalfi coast.

 

the farm in Piedmonte
The people working the Malibu store are all so friendly and Anna who was serving me, didn’t mind how many flavors I wanted to taste.   I think I had about half-a-dozen in the end, each one more delicious than the one before…
 

Anca who comes from Turin, says “taste the cream”
“Have you tried the cream?” Anca, the other server, asked me.
“No thanks,” I said, wondering why anyone would eat whipped cream when there’s so many wonderful flavors of gelato?
“This is special cream we bring in from Italy,” she said, and seemed sad I wasn’t interested in tasting it. It was amazing! The best whipped cream yours truly has EVER tasted.  I ate the entire spoonful!
Grom Gelateria Hits Malibu This Sunday, With More Likely To ComePhoto: Grom Gelateria
.
I couldn’t eat any more gelato after all that. I bought a container to take home – limone, Cioccolato Extranoir (sorbet) and Nocciola.
If you like ice cream, or even if you don’t like ice cream, I highly recommend you try it! It’s  worth the drive, and the price: $5.25 with tax (for four ounces).
.
NOTE:
Grom gelato has been rated by the Italian Celiac Association (AIC) as being gluten free. (“All their gelato products are suitable for consumption by celiac customers, except those marked with the symbol  “)
.
Malibu beach last Saturday

The tide was so low I was able to walk along the beach for several miles.

low tide

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Tutto va bene, Wandering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Would you drive 60 miles for an ice cream? I did…

  1. Boris says:

    Yummm! Yearning for that Limone / Nocciola combination….!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Your pictures from this day are beautiful!! The next time I visit, you and I will be traveling here together as I would love to taste the cream! I love icecream and would easily travel over 60 miles to experience a new taste!

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks for commenting on my photos. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who’d travel so far for a gelato. Elizabeth, next time you come to LA we’ll go straight from the airport for a gelato (and a walk on the beach).

  3. dearrosie says:

    Sarah I have room for 5 in my little car! There’s always room for you!

  4. bronxboy55 says:

    Where was I when you posted this? Did I not know you then? It doesn’t seem possible. And now you have me wishing for a casual stroll in the streets of Sicily, eating pistachio gelato and not worrying about anything except how much melted ice cream I have on my face. Thanks, Rosie!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Charles,
      When I posted this earlier this year I think we were blogging buddies. Didn’t we meet last year? Perhaps you’re one of the people who aren’t getting all the posts of my blog?

      Anyway I’m glad you were able to come by now. I hope you can take that casual stroll in Sicily soon …

  5. Interesting name. I will have to tell daughter about it and maybe, just maybe when I’m there in CA she’ll remember and have some in the freezer for me. Meanwhile, I will look for it here too. 🙂 Thank you. I will also, mention it to my sister–the one with the Italian name who has been to Italy more times than the rest of my family put together.

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m sorry that it’s not widely available. The Malibu store was only the second one in the States (not sure if they have opened any more recently) and they don’t sell to supermarkets.

      The best way to enjoy it, is if you drive over to Malibu, get nice and hot going for a walk on the beach, and then get your ice cream.

      I’d be delighted – no honored – to take you next time you’re visiting your daughter. I can’t think of a better way to meet a blogging buddy than over an ice cream cone at GROM.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

