my “Etheree” poem: “Rain”

I had never heard of an Etheree poem until I read one Priya wrote at her blog last week. It looked like a fun exercise, so here’s my attempt

What’s an Etheree poem? It’s a little-known poetry format created about twenty years ago by an Arkansas poet named Etheree Taylor Armstrongjust ten lines long, uncomplicated, unpretentious, and non-rhyming, it starts with a line of one syllable, then adds one syllable per line, until the last line of ten syllables, for an overall syllable count of 55.

 

Rain
today
yesterday
tomorrow too
wind whips my brolly
water pours down my back
my shoes sing squish-squish because
I step into deep pools thinking
how to slow water’s rush to the sea
a biblical deluge in our desert

 

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to my “Etheree” poem: “Rain”

  1. linda goluboff says:

    Hi Wondering Rose
    This particular poem has a sense of softness and flowers. This is a feel good poem and the drawing brought a sweet smile.
    Thank you.
    I feel you are a very wise soul.
    LaLa Linda

  2. linda goluboff says:

    Dear wondering Rose,
    did you get my comment
    LaLaLINDA

  3. bronxboy55 says:

    Rose,

    I’m impressed. Was this really your first attempt? You’ve made it look easy, with wonderful results.

  4. dearrosie says:

    Thanks for writing BB. Yes truly my first attempt. I look forward to seeing what you do with it.

  5. Priya says:

    “my shoes sing squish-squish” is what has made this day for me, Rosanne! Squishing shoes in the rain are the best thing ever. Especially when there is no rain to try it out and then grumble. 😉

    Good experience, eh? The stringing of these syllables? I like the way the lines in your poem have taken the shape of the top 3/4 of a gnome head, or is it a complete Hobbit house?

    • dearrosie says:

      It was a interesting experience especially as I’ve never counted syllables so religiously before. Squishing shoes in the rain are fun as long as your socks aren’t wet! It’s still raining here!

  6. Dinah says:

    Thanks so much for the new form!!! I found it so inspiring that I wrote my own etheree last night as soon as I read your blog and then revised it this morning. I don’t know how to center the lines here, but here goes:

    Morning Etheree

    Sun
    alarm
    sudden crash
    of dawn’s cracking
    trashes dreams that blur
    the line between two worlds
    one that sleeps and one that wakes
    when light rescues the dormant soul
    like an old tree jerked free and righted
    from a floodstorm of jumbled memory

    And I thought this vacation was only supposed to be about housecleaning! What a silly idea.

    • dearrosie says:

      Whew that’s really beautiful Dinah, thanks for sharing it with us. I’m so sorry I don’t know how to center it here, because when it’s centered it forms a perfectly lined-up shape which shows how skillful a writer you are.

  7. Pingback: Japan, I weep with you | Wondering Rose

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

