Museum Musings: record breaking heat in L.A.

Malibu

The Museum wasn’t very busy today, a high pressure weather system together with the warm dry Santa Ana winds, which always blow at this time of the year, brought record high temperatures in the mid-80’s to the L.A. region, breaking previous records set in the 1950’s, and sent everyone to the beach.

*

Her first name, according to her credit card was Holiday. “You’ve got a very unusual name,” I said to the 20-something woman, “But I’m sure you must be sick of people telling you that.”
“Yes, but I don’t mind…”
“Were your parents on holiday when you were born?”
“No,” she said, “My Dad who is Greek, was so excited the day I was born that he said today must be a special holiday, but as it wasn’t, I became the holiday.”
She told me her sister’s name is Star, and her brother is Orion.

*

I chatted with a couple from Istanbul who were so friendly, I decided to try out my Turkish and said,  “Merhaba,” hoping the Turkish teenagers I met last month hadn’t taught me a rude word. It was correct, but my pronunciation was dreadful, the “h” is silent, and the “r” is hard,  “Merrr-aba.”

*

Philippino tourist: “I don’t want to buy the whole book, it’s too much money. How much to copy just this one page?”

*

A group of Carolers sang a few Christmas songs in the main entrance.

*

Tourist: Where’s there a restroom?
Me: Downstairs
Tourist: Downstairs?
Me: Nodding yes
Tourist: If I go down the stairs will I see it?

T shirts:
T-shirt with a tie painted on it
Beijing Zoo
I’m pretty much one of the best people I know (boy of nine)
Fly Fisherman
It’s not that I forget/It’s that I don’t care

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

