it’s American Thanksgiving today

humming bird

Happy Thanksgiving y’all.

I know this isn’t a prize winning photo, but I give thanks that the hummingbird waited patiently on the branch yesterday morning, long enough for me to dig out my camera, and capture the moment of stillness, and I also post it for Sally, because it was at her and Mac’s cottage by the lake in Ontario, that I first learned how to feed hummingbirds with sugar water.

the "pink tree"

I have so much to be thankful for:

  • my family – each and every one of you – my 94 year-old mother, my children oh my lovely children♥, siblings, nieces, nephews, cousins
  • my Mr F
  • all our friends, near and far
  • that I have a roof over my head
  • a soft, warm bed to lay down in
  • food on my table
  • water that pours out of my tap when I need it, and comes out nice and hot for my bath
  • that we live in such a  beautiful part of the world where the sun shines all year, flowers, palm trees, and mountains in all directions, and half an hour away, the ocean, miles and miles of beautiful clean sandy beaches waiting for my toes

Moon rise

Sunday’s full moon.  I know it’s not a photo that takes your breath away, but the moon was so beautiful I ran outside to try capture it for y’all

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Photography, Wondering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to it’s American Thanksgiving today

  1. E fullstop says:

    Very nice, Ro. When I read your postings, I imagine them read in your accent. I must say I’ve never heard “y’all” said in your accent.

    And while we’re taking a virtual trip around the world, the “pink tree” is a silk floss tree, which is native to South America.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. I love this post … thanks for sharing YOUR thanksgiving thoughts!!
    Happy Turkey Day, Rosie dear!!

  3. Dear Rosie,
    Thank you for reminding us all to count our blessings and never to forget the daily miracle of being alive in the moment.
    With Love, D

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

