My son is gay (via Nerdy Apple Bottom)

If a girl can dress up as Batman at Halloween, what’s wrong if a 5 year old boy wants to dress up as a girl?   Read this Mom’s great blog about her son’s Halloween.

My son is gay Or he’s not. I don’t care. He is still my son. And he is 5. And I am his mother. And if you have a problem with anything mentioned above, I don’t want to know you. I have gone back and forth on whether I wanted to post something more in-depth about my sweet boy and his choice of Halloween costume. Or more specifically, the reactions to it. I figure if I’m still irked by it a few days later, I may as well go ahead and post my thoughts. Here are th … Read More

via Nerdy Apple Bottom

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Families don't you love them, Uncategorized, Wondering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My son is gay (via Nerdy Apple Bottom)

  1. Mahalia says:

    glad she wrote this, and that you shared it. great costume. too bad some people are still learning how to be kind and openhearted.

  2. bronxboy55 says:

    Some really mean-spirited comments on there. I think that little boy is lucky to have the mother he has. And I hope, given the distressing events taking place over the past few months, that more parents will be able to see past their own kids’ sexual orientation (real or imagined) and love them for the people they are.

    Thanks, Rose, for giving this more attention.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks for writing Bronxboy. I too am sighing with relief that the little boy is lucky to have his Mom.
      My hope in reposting the beautifully written blog is that more people will see what a narrow minded and bigoted society we really live in, and that the recent suicides were caused not only by peer teasing, but my Mom stupidity.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

