Museum Musings: we’re wearing hats this year

The past year I’ve noticed, everyone – both males and females, young and old – are all wearing hats.  I don’t mean baseball hats. I never cared for them, but lovely, elegant “old fashioned” hats.

Me: “I love your hat!”
Woman: “Thank you. Pity I have to wear it, but I’m glad to say the hair is slowly   growing back. Thank you for noticing.”

Kyle and Colin 

A woman asked me if we had a book of photos by Weegee. She was looking for a specific photo he’d taken about 75 years ago, of a New York City street.

She explained: “It was a very hot summer day and a group of kids were splashing around a broken fire hydrant. One of those kids was me. We lived in New Jersey, and that Sunday we were visiting our cousins who lived in the apartment upstairs.”

Unfortunately we didn’t find the photo.

Weegee was the pseudonym of Arthur Fellig, (1899-1968), an American photo-journalist (born in Austria).  His nickname is taken from the word “Ouijie, because he’d always arrive at scenes of crimes, fires, or accidents minutes after they were reported to the police.

His black-and-white photos are a brutally honest document of life in the lower east side of New York City during the 1930’s and 40’s:

accident scenes, fires, opera openings, showgirls, lovers, drunks, families sleeping on fire escapes to stay cool, tenement children playing in fire-hydrant spray, murderers being arrested and countless victims of misfortunes.

If you’re interested to see his photos, here’s a link to his book “Naked City“.

 

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Museum Musings: we’re wearing hats this year

  1. I know that photograph! It’s really famous — wow, what a cool story!
    I’m sure you can find it online somewhere … let’s try!!

  2. Here’s the Link — it’s on a wordpress blog called Ephemeral New York.
    http://ephemeralnewyork.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/summer-on-the-lower-east-side/
    Wonder which one is your visitor???

    • dearrosie says:

      That must be the photo Betty! Thanks so much for finding it. She did tell me which one of the kids she was, but I’m sorry to say I don’t remember. Grrr. And I don’t know her name either. Maybe she’ll see this post….

  3. linda goluboff says:

    hi wondering,
    i must tell you i have always been a hat lover. my mom always wore hats to keep the sun off her face.
    soo, i carried on the tradition and i love my sun hats.
    great big straw elegant hats i buy them just before the summer is ending and just like my mom before me keep them in the old fashion hat boxes.
    i wear them almost through till the bright sun is not so bright,
    but, the very second there is the wonderful ray of the warm feeling of sun, my hats are back, and i like my hats. my friends like them as well,but they are not hat wearers.

  4. Lisa Dakdduk says:

    Dear Rosie, Thanks for the summer on the Lower East Side photo. I have a friend who is turning 100 this year a. She went to nyu and graduated in 1937. I’m having a hard time locating pictures from then. Any suggestions? LisaD

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Lisa,
      Congratulations to your friend on her 100th. I’m sure there weren’t many woman who went to university in the early 1900’s!

      You’re a good researcher – I’m impressed how you found this post Lisa. 😀 I assume you asked “Ephemeral New York” linked above?

      Stores that sell antiques and second hand “stuff” often have bins with old photos. The museum where I work once had an exhibition with those “discarded” photos.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

