Museum Musings… Sales tax and Shakespeare

blue jeans

I haven’t written about the museum for a couple of weeks.  It hasn’t been very busy. It’s been raining and cold, but we have had a few hot, sunny days too.

I met a couple from Boston, Mass who were shocked that the L.A. area sales tax is so high. It went up twice in the past year, and is now 9.75%
“What’s your sales tax?” I asked.
“5%…”
Wow!  Maybe we should move to Boston. But its hard to spell M-a-s-s-a-c-h-u-s-e-t-t-s, so I guess that’s why so many of us live in CA…


London’s  Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre production of “The Merry Wives of Windsor,” was in Santa Monica earlier this month. I met a few of the ever so friendly actors at my cash register. ( I only recognized Christopher Benjamin, who plays Falstaff, because of his beautiful mustache.)
They were surprised that so many Southern Californian students (who came to their matinée performances) didn’t know who Shakespeare was.
While we were talking a little girl of about eight came up to my cash register.
“Have you heard of Shakespeare?” I asked her.
“Yes,” she said, “I’m English.”

I wonder how many eight-year-old American school girls at my cash register  would know who Shakespeare was?

I also served:

  • an English woman called Dorcas,
  • an American called Destiny
  • a man whose t-shirt told me he was “the employee of the month”
  • a German couple who live in Equatorial Guinea
  • Alex, an American NGO Aid worker who had many interesting stories to share

and was blessed by a nun from Sri Lanka.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Museum Musings… Sales tax and Shakespeare

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  2. oh, what a lovely spirit you are — finding the joy and humour and connection in your (not terribly fulfilling) work instead of complaining about it — I’m sure the people you serve are delighted, as are we, your loyal fans. keep writing!

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

