When your house catches fire call 9-1-1! Right? Wrong!

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=house+fire&iid=9449226″ src=”http://view1.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/9449226/firefighter-works/firefighter-works.jpg?size=500&imageId=9449226″ width=”380″ height=”271″ /]

.

This is a true story: On September 29, 2010 in a  small town in Tennessee a house burned to the ground, while the town’s firefighters stood and watched.

21 year old Lance Cranick, who lived in the house with his grandparents, Gene and Paulette Cranick, started the fire while burning trash in a barrel.

He went inside to take a shower, and when he returned discovered a shed next to the house in flames. It spread despite his efforts to put it out with a garden hose.

According to one of the articles I read, the firefighters refused to help extinguish the fire, because the county doesn’t have a free fire service, and the home owners hadn’t paid the annual $75 fee for fire protection.

The Cranicks called 9-1-1 (several times),  the fire chief, and the mayor of their town,  to ask for help in stopping the fire before it spread to their house, and also offered to pay the firefighters, whatever the cost, but were told, “Sorry, you didn’t pay for fire protection.”

The firemen pulled out their hoses when the fire spread to a neighbor’s field, because the neighbor “had paid his fee”.

Paulette Cranick, 67, said the men were just following orders. “You can’t blame them. I’ve had firemen call and apologise,” she said.

I never thought something like this would happen in the United States of America. I thought we helped our neighbors. I thought we lived with basic common decency of the Golden Rule i.e “Treat others as you would like to be treated”.

as the Bob Dylan song reminds us:

Do Right To Me Baby (Do Unto Others)

Don’t wanna judge nobody, don’t wanna be judged
Don’t wanna touch nobody, don’t wanna be touched
Don’t wanna hurt nobody, don’t wanna be hurt
Don’t wanna treat nobody like they was dirt

But if you do right to me, baby
I’ll do right to you, too
Ya got to do unto others
Like you’d have them, like you’d have them, do unto you

Don’t wanna shoot nobody, don’t wanna be shot
Don’t wanna buy nobody, don’t wanna be bought
Don’t wanna bury nobody, don’t wanna be buried
Don’t wanna marry nobody if they’re already married

But if you do right to me, baby
I’ll do right to you, too
Ya got to do unto others
Like you’d have them, like you’d have them, do unto you

Don’t wanna burn nobody, don’t wanna be burned
Don’t wanna learn from nobody what I gotta unlearn
Don’t wanna cheat nobody, don’t wanna be cheated
Don’t wanna defeat nobody if they already been defeated

But if you do right to me, baby
I’ll do right to you, too
Ya got to do unto others
Like you’d have them, like you’d have them, do unto you

Don’t wanna wink at nobody, don’t wanna be winked at
Don’t wanna be used by nobody for a doormat
Don’t wanna confuse nobody, don’t wanna be confused
Don’t wanna amuse nobody, don’t wanna be amused

But if you do right to me, baby
I’ll do right to you, too
Ya got to do unto others
Like you’d have them, like you’d have them, do unto you

Don’t wanna betray nobody, don’t wanna be betrayed
Don’t wanna play with nobody, don’t wanna be waylaid
Don’t wanna miss nobody, don’t wanna be missed
Don’t put my faith in nobody, not even a scientist

But if you do right to me, baby
I’ll do right to you, too
Ya got to do unto others
Like you’d have them, like you’d have them, do unto you

Copyright © 1979 by Special Rider Music

 

Jack (photo credit B. Barnett)

 

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Wondering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

