teenage boys and breast cancer

What do teenage boys have to do with breast cancer? As part of a nationwide campaign to raise money for breast cancer, keepabreast.org produced brightly colored rubber wristbands that read “I ♡ Boobies“,  which our teenage boys are wearing. Very happily.

Earlier this week about 30 High school students in Fresno California had their “I ♡ boobies” bracelets confiscated by their school principal who said “they were degrading to women.” They have since been returned and a written statement from their School Board reads:

“Students are allowed to wear the bracelets as they are not a violation of the district/site dress code. In fact, many of our school sites already participate in cancer awareness activities.”

This afternoon a 12 year-old boy at my cash register very proudly showed me his collection of brightly colored “I ♡ Boobies” bracelets.

“He spent all his pocket money buying them,” his mother told me. “$4 each.”

While I agree with the school principal, I also think it’s a clever way to raise money for breast cancer awareness.


About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to teenage boys and breast cancer

  1. Mahalia says:

    I kinda love it. I would wear an I ❤ boobies T shirt, perhaps. I would not, however, wear the bracelet. Not only because it is not in my fashion taste, but because the bracelets are plastic, and plastics, as we know, contain breast cancer promoting chemicals like phthlates and bisphenol A and sometimes PVC. Also, i always ask what they are doing with the money: funding drugs companies, or funding prevention? Breast Cancer can be prevented 93% of the time. Let's put our money there – in organic food, in nontoxic cleaners, in exercise programs, in education as to the real risk factors for hormone-dependent cancers.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

