Bisphenol A in cash register receipts…

According to an article in the L.A. Times, the Environmental Working Group  recently reported that high amounts of Bisphenol A , also known as BPA,  are present in cash register receipts:

In addition to plastic bottles and food can linings, bisphenol A is found in the chemical coating of some thermal papers — the type used in cash registers that turn color when exposed to heat.

Certainly, there would be real concerns if the bisphenol A on receipts readily sloughs off onto the fingers of cashiers and buyers, penetrates several layers of skin and enters the bloodstream at potentially toxic levels, says Kristina Thayer, a scientist at the National Toxicology Program. However, she added, no scientific study has even looked for such a pathway….

But contaminated fingers also could rub an eye or enter a mouth, aiding the chemical’s entry there.

Tell me why I shouldn’t be concerned.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bisphenol A in cash register receipts…

  1. Ewwwwwwww!
    I hope you’re washing your hands frequently! ( i personally think that anti-bacterial goop is probably toxic, too) — what the hell are we doing to ourselves???

  2. dearrosie says:

    I too would like to know what the hell we’re doing to ourselves. I don’t use the anti-bacterial “goop” because I also think it’s toxic – but I do rub my eyes.

  3. Mahalia says:

    oi. upsetting but not surprising. maybe you should start wearing special gloves that go with your outfit? someone i used to work with did that, but he was just worried about germs, i think.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

