Thank you Anne Rice

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=anne+rice&iid=6307463″ src=”http://view3.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/6307463/broadway-opening-lestat/broadway-opening-lestat.jpg?size=500&imageId=6307463″ width=”234″ height=”336″ /]

A dozen years after her return to Catholicism, Anne Rice, best known as the author of all those vampire novels, announced she has “quit being a Christian”.

She said on her Facebook page:

“In the name of Christ, I refuse to be anti-gay. I refuse to be anti-feminist. I refuse to be anti-artificial birth control. I refuse to be anti-Democrat. I refuse to be anti-secular humanism. I refuse to be anti-science. I refuse to be anti-life.”

In an interview in today’s L.A. Times, she said there were several last straws that led to her decision:

There were some last straws that had to do with papal pronouncements, the pope going to Africa and declaring that condoms were not a good idea and would not help in the AIDS epidemic; the pope standing up in Portugal and saying that one of the most insidious evils faced by the world today is same-sex marriage. You know, we live in a world where genocide and human slavery are realities, and the pope chose to focus on same-sex marriage. That was a moment of, “What in the world am I doing connected to this religion?” But the real last straw, the very last straw, was the bishop of Phoenix, Ariz., Thomas Olmsted, coming out and publicly condemning a nun named Sister Margaret McBride for authorizing a life-saving abortion for a dying mother in a Phoenix hospital. What he said in essence was that she had excommunicated herself by authorizing the abortion, and I could write a book on why I think that was a ruthless and immoral decision.

[I voiced my comments on the nun, Sister Margaret McBride, on May 24th 2010.]

I have two questions for the Pope:

  • If you were a poor man living in Africa and all your family was infected with AIDS would you still say a condom wasn’t a good idea?
  • You said, and I quote, that “same-sex marriage is one of the most insidious evils faced by the world today.” Do you know any same-sex couples?   I do. I’ve been in their homes, and there’s only loving kindness in them.  What’s evil about that?

I believe that “one of the most insidious evils faced by the world today is the sexual abuse children have endured for generations from your priests.

Anne Rice, we the voiceless thank you for speaking out.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Wondering and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thank you Anne Rice

  1. Quincy G says:

    Anne Rice is my hero. Those are the very same reasons why I walked away from the church. Organised religion does not lend itself to logical thinking. I can’t imagine condemming a nun for authorizing an abortion to save a woman’s life. Why would he be so against saving a life? The mother was dying and her baby would die too. What could be gained by refusing this woman a safe life saving procedure? Anne still has a strong belief in Jesus and God. She’s just not willing to call herself a christian for very valid reasons.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Thank you Anne Rice « Wondering Rose -- Topsy.com

  3. Mahalia says:

    thank you, anne rice, and wondering rose. i am sure she will find her people. they may even be people who identify as catholic but are also more open-hearted in their compassion and love.

  4. Mylene says:

    I’m both relieved and surprised that there are millions out there like me — a believer who isn’t a part of any organized religion. Thank you indeed, Anne Rice.

  5. As a practicing Catholic, I have to say that I agree with everything Anne Rice says — and I have the same exact problems with The Church. I just don’t have those problems with MY church (lower case) which is why I’m still there. Yes, I think the Pope is completely and utterly irresponsible for his AIDS comments and I also believe that you don’t get to be against birth control and abortion. It’s just consigning women to a life of misery and desperation. But I love my church (lower case) which is all about social justice, equality, love, compassion and forgiveness. And I do have to bring up one issue, because I’m married to a Jewish man — why is it that everybody can and does feel free to come out in vocal opposition to all the sins of the Catholics (of which, obviously, there are many) — but if you breathe one word of criticism of Israel (a country, NOT a religion, btw) for its many, many human rights violations and bellicose aggression, you’re automatically labeled anti-Semetic and shut down without a second thought. That doesn’t seem fair to me….

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

