Museum musings: It’s August, and everyone’s on vacation

Malibu

Today I asked everyone I met at my cash register, “Where are you from?” Here’s the list, in no particular order:

U.S.A – Washington D.C, Las Vegas, Pennsylvania, Utah, Wichita Kansas, Chicago, Austin Texas,  Ohio, Connecticut, Boston, New York, Portland, Florida, Atlanta, and all over California

  • England, and Scotland
  • Taiwan
  • Europe: Italy, France, Germany, Spain, Holland
  • Australia and New Zealand
  • Israel
  • Canada
  • Sweden
  • China
  • South Korea
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Mexico
  • Japan
  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Russia

When I asked a Russian man where he was from, he thought I wanted to see his I.D., so he showed me his passport. He came from Vladivostok.  I’ve never met anyone from there before. It’s like meeting someone from Timbuktoo, or Lake Titicaca…

I looked it up. It’s in the far east of Russia: 4,000 miles from Moscow, 50 miles from N. Korea and a few miles to Japan.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Museum Musings, Not America, Wandering and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Museum musings: It’s August, and everyone’s on vacation

  1. bronxboy55 says:

    That’s quite a list of places. Isn’t it amazing to think that people came from all over the world to converge on that spot where you were standing?

    Thanks for an interesting post, and for the geography lesson, too!

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

