the nice customer at Roxanne’s cash register

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=bicycle+cycling+cyclist+bike+biking&iid=6166540″ src=”http://view3.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/6166540/commuting-nyc-bicycle/commuting-nyc-bicycle.jpg?size=500&imageId=6166540″ width=”234″ height=”141″ /]

Photo by Mario Tama/Getty Images

I haven’t been to yoga since I fell in June, and my body was crying for some TLC so I went to my favorite gentle class at  Yoga Blend today.  After I parked my car outside the yoga studio, I noticed a young woman ride up in a bike.  In L.A. no one rides bikes, and she was even wearing a crash helmet. I complemented her. She told me she doesn’t own a car and goes everywhere by bike. I was more impressed when she told me where she lives – she’d ridden all the way up the hill in the heat to go to a yoga class.

While we waited to go into the room she said to me, “Have you ever shopped at the Trader Joes in Studio City? I work as a cashier there and I think I recognize you.”

“It’s not my neighborhood branch, but I’ve gone there once or twice after my acupuncture appointments (which are around the corner).” I said.

She’s Roxanne from Trader Joes whom I wrote about  on July 16, 2010 http://wp.me/pN0M1-io

She didn’t remember that we had almost the same name, but recognized me as that “nice customer at her register after a morning of horrible people”.  Moi? Merci ….

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Wondering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the nice customer at Roxanne’s cash register

  1. Jeremy says:

    Quite a coincidence!

  2. Mahalia says:

    aww, that is so nice! did you tell her about some other people you know who get around by bicycle?

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

