Museum Musings: headache at the cash register

photo credit C. Fox

One of my co-workers, Bonnie, at the register next to me, complained about a severe headache, “I took pain killers an hour ago, but it didn’t help my headache. I wonder whether I should take some more pills?”  she said.

Before I had a chance to answer, a middle-aged American tourist standing in front of us said, “Which side is your headache?”

“The right side,” said Bonnie

“May I?” she said, and leaning over the counter she took Bonnie’s left hand, and squeezed on the flap of skin between her thumb and first finger.

“Did that help?” the woman said after a few minutes of constant pressure. “Is your headache better?

“Oh my god,” Bonnie said, “I can’t believe it. My headache’s just fading away.”

“Good. You don’t need to take headache pills.” said the woman, “Just keep pressing that spot until the headache goes away.

“Thank you so very much,” Bonnie said.

“My pleasure. I’m glad I could help,” said the woman, “A Burmese monk taught me the pressure trick many years ago.”

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Museum Musings: headache at the cash register

  1. mark says:

    my bonnie lies over the ocean –
    my bonnie lies over the sea —
    my bonnie lies over the ocean –
    no more headache for bonnie or me 😉

  2. Corilee says:

    I use that same accupressure spot when i have a side stitch while running. Maybe it fixes everything!

  3. Oh, I can’t wait to get a headache so I can try this!

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

