Museum Musings this week

Jacarandas in Spain (photo credit D. Berland)

Last week I whined about the foggy, cold 65 degree F temps, now we’re sweltering in a *heat* wave with triple digit temps and the air con runs constantly.

Roxanne, who served me at Trader Joes today, admitted to feeling a bit low. Everyone in the line felt the same. Are we all feeling discombobulated because of the weather extremes, and/or the current cycle of solar eclipses, or because our team didn’t win the World Cup?

For the Ultimate Goal (Photo credit: Barry Barnett)

Yesterday I rang a Brazilian tourist’s credit card and saw she had my name: “Rosane”, but spelled the Portuguese way with one “n”.   My new friend explained that in Portuguese an “R” is pronounced “Ho” (a harsh gutteral sound, as if you’re clearing your throat;  or the sound our Greek next door neighbor made when he’d spit outside his back door), so our name is pronounced “Ho-Za-ney“.

Later when I served a Brazilian teenager called  “Arthur”, I tried to say his name the Portuguese way, but I don’t know how to say it: “ho-ho”?

In the afternoon I served a Swedish tourist and her teenage daughters. They were surprised when I recognized  their accent. “No one in America ever guesses correctly,” they said.  [I know it well thanks to our Swedish friends Annika and Katarina]  The Swedish woman loved the current photography exhibition in the museum (I also do), and told me that her husband Martin Adler, was a photo-journalist who was killed in Somalia. “Look him up,” she told me.

The London Independent had an obituary:

Martin John Lars Adler, award winning photo-journalist and cameraman. Born Stockholm  1958, shot dead in Mogadishu 23 June 2006 by an unknown gunman, while covering a peace rally. Married to Katarina Ekman. Two daughters.

He spoke six languages, and worked in over 20 war zones on four continents. “I want to cover the places that nobody else cares about,” he said, “and listen to people that others don’t listen to.”

“He put himself, his hand-held camera, his intellect and his sense of humour in the way of the world’s meanest people and most horrible situations,” said the BBC journalist Paul Mason.

Here are some of his photos:

I wish I could tell his widow how sorry I am, and how much I love his photos…

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Museum Musings, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Museum Musings this week

  1. E fullstop says:

    Very touching post and incredible photographs!

  2. oh, thanks so much for sharing this — what a beautiful man and what beautiful photos! i hope his wife reads your blog; it would comfort her i am sure.

  3. mj says:

    How very moving.

    I do so enjoy reading stories from your work about the fascinating people from around the world that you meet.

  4. Katarina Adler says:

    Dear Rosanne, your words make my heart warm, thank you so much for caring, all the best Katarina

  5. Barbara Rodgers says:

    What an amazing photographer, what bittersweet and hauntingly beautiful images. So many people in war-torn areas trying to simply live and let live, I’m sure. My heartfelt sympathy to Martin John Lars Adler’s widow Katarina, and their daughters…

    • dearrosie says:

      Barbara I’m so glad you found this post. I still find it hard to accept that a peace loving man like Martin Adler, would end up dying at a peace rally he was attending just so he could take a photo for us… I think often of his widow Katarina. I feel honored that I met her.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

