A Saturday in L.A….

Jacaranda on the way to work...

I went with my friend Dinah to a delightful baby naming this morning at Ohr HaTorah, a Synagogue on Venice Boulevard. A world apart, yet only a couple of miles away from the Hari Krishna Temple.

While Rabbi Finley blessed Lyla Rose and her parents on the bima, she reached out to touch him. It was the sweetest thing to see. I looked around the Temple and everyone was smiling.

lunch with Dinah in her "secret" garden

I stopped at Trader Joe’s on my way home. I remembered to take in the L.L Bean white canvas bag with orange straps, we bought when we were in Freeport, Maine.

After the cashier rang up my purchases (milk, yoghurt, coffee beans, and fruit)  I saw him wrinkle his nose in distaste as he picked up my bag.  It looked as if he didnt want to touch it.

“Has this bag come into contact with animals?” he asked, while giving the woman in the line behind me a “knowing look”.

“It sits on the back seat of my car, and my dog sits there sometimes.” I said,

“I thought so! I’m allergic to dogs and cats,” he said, “and this bag is giving me a severe allergic reaction!”

After giving the woman in the line behind me another one of those looks, we all watched him march off to the manager’s desk. I couldn’t hear what he said, but they both turned in my direction, as did all the people in the line behind and around me.

I debated whether to say something in my prince of dog’s defense, because he’s one of the non-shedding-hypo-allergenic-breeds, which are supposedly OK for allergy sufferers, and the reason we bought him in the first place, but I didn’t say anything.

I began to feel itchy.

When the cashier returned he was rubbing his hands with something, and muttering to himself. He gave the woman behind me another one of those “looks”, and completed my sale without touching the bag.

I felt itchy all over my body as I walked out the store carrying the guilty bag.

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=supermarket&iid=8525345″ src=”http://view.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/8525345/customers-select-fruit/customers-select-fruit.jpg?size=500&imageId=8525345″ width=”380″ height=”271″ /]

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, The Natural World, Tutto va bene, Wondering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Saturday in L.A….

  1. Santokh Singh Khalsa, DC says:

    How do you manage to find these people?

  2. Dinah says:

    Oh!!! You took a secret picture in my secret garden while I wasn’t looking!! Love it.
    xxxooo
    Dinah

  3. Boris says:

    I wonder if the cashier is in an appropriate line of work or whether he’s merely trying for some compensatory attention. His reaction pushes the envelope of credible behavior even in a tolerant workplace. Was he new to this position?

  4. how hilarious — what a total dork that bagger is!
    the whole POINT of recycled bags is to use them over again… duhhhhh! i’m feeling defensive about your doggie and i don’t even know him!

    xoxoox b

  5. linda goluboff says:

    wondering,
    it is so strange as to people act in different situatuions.
    sometimes we are who we are are then and now
    why
    love la linda

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

