5.4 earthquake near Borrego Springs

5.4 Quake Centered Near Borrego Springs

5.4 Quake Centered Near Borrego Springs (KTLA News)

Another earthquake hit southern California this week. A magnitude 5.4 which struck at 5:53 p.m on Wednesday July 7th about 28 miles south of Palm Springs was felt across a large area – high rises in both Los Angeles and San Diego swayed – but we didn’t feel a thing at the Museum. Thankfully the epicenter was in a remote area, so it didn’t cause any major damage.
Earlier this year seismologists said the number of earthquakes greater than magnitude 4 in Southern California and Baja California had increased significantly in 2010, but they haven’t been able to fully explain the rise.

taking out the stitches

I had the stitches taken out my knee today. It looked red and nasty to me, but the doctor thought it was healing well…  He told me I should avoid yoga for at least two more weeks, that it’s going to take about 6 months before the scar’s fully healed,  and suggested I put on an ointment to aid the healing.
“Which one?” I asked.
“The are many in the drug store, but a plastic surgeon once told me that ‘Preparation H‘ (the one without hydrocortisone) is one of the best creams for scarring,” he replied.

the stitches are out

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Wondering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5.4 earthquake near Borrego Springs

  1. Mahalia says:

    borrego springs: i hope the sheep and the gorgeous california palms are ok!

    scar/wound healing: many options that the doctor didn’t know to tell you about!
    top 2:
    – comfrey & calendula for healing and decreasing inflammation (as long as the wound is fully closed)
    – for decreasing scarring specifically, we hear that rose hip oil is great, and vitamin E. topical tumeric extract is good too (is actually good for everything)

    • dearrosie says:

      I also hope the beautiful California palms are OK!

      Thanks for the scar/wound healing options. I’ve never heard of Vitamin E topical turmeric extract!?

  2. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  3. Pingback: Two months too late… « Wondering Rose

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

