This week in Los Angeles…

  • Jacarandas are blooming now.  They are such beautiful trees, when the flowers fall, the ground becomes a purple carpet.

Jacaranda tree, and purple carpet of flowers

  • coyotes have attacked pets on a street round the corner from us
  • First Lady Michelle Obama, her daughters, Sasha and Malia, and her Mother, Mrs Robinson, were on a “private family vacation” in Los Angeles earlier this week.  Even though Mrs Obama travels with a large convoy of black SUV’s, surrounded by California Highway Patrol cops in patrol cars and on motorcycles,  she managed to keep her visit “private” until late Tuesday afternoon, when Twitter users around the city broke the story.

.

  • The Indian spiritual leader, Mata Amritanandamayi, known as Amma, “the Hugging Saint“, has given darshan, or hugs to Angelenos all week in a windowless conference room at the airport Hilton Hotel.

Amma 'The Hugging Saint' will visit Dallas, TX on June 27 and 28, 2010

Kurt Streeter of the the L.A. Times described the hug:

A bevy of assistants swirled around, one massaging her shoulder, another making sure I’d wiped my face, a third whispering in her ear. They lifted my shoulders and set me on my knees in front of her.

Suddenly, Amma’s hands clasped my neck. She planted my head into her upper chest and held so tight that no movement was possible. She clasped the back of my head, stroked my hair, laughed and began silently chanting words that were indecipherable. It was warm, comfortable, even sweet. She scattered flower petals atop my head and it was over.

“It felt nice, like a hug from my grandmother.”

.

  • Yesterday afternoon when Mexico beat France in their World Cup match, police had to disperse fans drinking in the streets and throwing rocks at cars
  • Last night when the L.A. Lakers defeated the Boston Celtics in the  NBA Finals (National Basketball), the drunk crowd went wild, hurled bottles, jumped on vehicles, broke windows, lit fires. It took hundreds of Los Angeles police officers in patrol cars, on foot and on  horseback to clear the streets.

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=L.A.+Lakers+win+NBA+finals&iid=3336296″ src=”http://view3.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/3336296/rioting-breaks-out-los/rioting-breaks-out-los.jpg?size=500&imageId=3336296″ width=”500″ height=”368″ /]

A police car burns during riots outside the Staples Center in Los Angeles after a victory celebration by Lakers fans turned violent. (Photo by Jason Kirk/Online USA)

On an average day, Twitter gets about 750 tweets per second for a total of about 65 million a day.
But the Lakers set a Twitter record Thursday night, generating 3,085 tweets per second as the game ended.

[Many streets will be closed in preparation for their victory parade Monday at 11 a.m. I can’t imagine the rush-hour mess that morning.]

  • The Mayor of L.A. and his cops must be glad that FIFA referee Koman Couilibaly disallowed Edu’s goal resulting in a 2-2 tie in America’s World Cup game against Slovenia today, so that the fans didn’t have another reason to go screaming down the streets.

The Museum this week:

  • The summer tourists have arrived, and sorry to say, Americans are overweight.
  • I’ve had laryngitis all week. It’s interesting how people react when they hear me croaking: most of them whisper back without commenting; some say “You can’t speak!”; one man said to me: “You have no voice. Your husband must be happy.”

    A street in Beverly Hills

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Museum Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This week in Los Angeles…

  1. linda goluboff says:

    hello wonderingrose,
    first of all i find your remarks (a) americans being TOO FAT,
    who is to say the french are too fat or etc., etc.,
    why do you think this is a valid appeal? where does this come from?
    i cold list a list a thousand reasons why one might make this comment, but,
    frankly the argument is not worthy of my response.
    As we all know americans are not well
    liked, RIGHT?
    BUT WE ARE ALSO NOT STUPID PERSONS,
    NOR IS ANY OTHER KIND
    so my questions is very basic, how come some people make such remarks>?
    i, being a american and i shall always be this always and frankly
    I AM PROUD TO BE A AMERICAN
    yesterday on the bus i met
    a lovely family who were in the process of moving from south africa to toronto.
    the father asked me why do i still call la my home town? good question do you not think?
    soooo, why are calling americans what ever when you are so lucky to live in my
    COUNTRY????
    why do you think it is?
    is there nothing to think about how fat WE ALL AMERICANS ARE OR HOW STUPID WE ARE?
    is there nothing else to say good?
    i realize the medical system is terrible, i already
    know how difficult life is , traffic etc.
    so, when i wish i was back home and hear
    all this bull about la i can only say to myself,
    MAN I WISH I WAS BACK HOME.
    CANADA IS NOT MY HOME AND IT WILL NEVER BE HOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    but, i a not complaining, i a not
    saying canadians are this or that.
    WHAT I AM SAYING TO YOU IS THAT WE ARE ALL PEOPLE WE ALL HAVE OUR HOMES,
    I WANT TO GO HOME, I VERY MUCH WANT TO GO HOME. YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW MUCH I MISS BEING HOME IN LA?
    canada has never been my home,
    i just live here till my dreams come true of moving home,
    MY HOME!
    BUT
    i keep my thoughts to myself.
    so, this is where i live for now, ONLY
    BUT,
    I WANT TO GO HOME
    why do you live in my home but only complain about LIVING IN MY HOME,
    WHEN I WISH I WAS AT MY HOME?

  2. Very colorful commentary– and living in Atlanta, it’s so fascinating to consider life in a completely different environment. It’s boiling hot here.. jacarandas sound nice! (and i loved the description of the hugging saint!) — Vacations galore!

  3. Corilee says:

    Great round up of events Rosie – I’d loved an Amma hug 🙂

  4. Jeremy Freed says:

    As if some man said that to you!

  5. linda goluboff says:

    wondering
    please excuse my last comment.
    i was feeling loney for my home.
    i am sorry now that i said it
    sincerely,
    linda

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

