Museum Musings-the boy on the bench

Soon after I noticed a man sitting on the bench opposite my Satellite store with his little boy’s head in his lap, I saw the kid raise his arms in the air, and shake them wildly in front of his father’s face.

“Wow, that kid’s letting his Dad know he’s bored,” I thought, and watched to see whether he’d get a smack. He didn’t.

“I don’t know what’s happening! I’ve never seen anything like this before!” the man told a tourist who was walking past and witnessed the scene.

It took me a moment for it to sink in that the kid most probably just had a seizure! I ran for help.

It’s remarkable how fast the Security department responds to an emergency: within minutes a few supervisors and a “medic” were swarming around the bench. When I heard the man refuse both an ambulance, or to go to the hospital, I knew they were either Americans with no insurance, or International visitors. After the security officers left, the pair remained on the bench looking frightened and lonely. I went over to see whether I could help.

“Thank you,” said the man, “We don’t need anything. We just want to go back to our hotel.”

They were tourists from Switzerland. The ‘kid‘ lying on the bench was a woman in her twenties (wearing shorts), who’d felt faint after catching her finger in the bathroom door, so she’d laid down on the bench, and had a seizure from the shock!

I gave them an energy bar – I always keep one in my bag for emergencies [!] – and they walked slowly to the entrance.

I hope they’re OK.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings, Wondering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Museum Musings-the boy on the bench

  1. Boris says:

    What a scene! I can imagine how lonely they felt, and how nice of you to go to them and show concern. Thankfully there are people like you in the big city.

  2. REIKO says:

    Rosanne sa~n!

    Did you ask him “Dai-jo-bu”?

    Love Always,
    Reiko

  3. Blue says:

    Interesting. Good observational skills you have as a writer and an engaged human, and fast acting too! Well done, seriously.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

