1 woman who hasn’t forgotten Haiti

After the earthquake, Jenny, a Canadian midwife, volunteered to go work in Haiti. She hoped to take some medical supplies and baby clothes along with her, and sent out an email to friends to ask for donations (and her friends forwarded it to friends… which is how Mr F and I heard about it.)

This is an excerpt of an email she sent last night:

As a fairly-inexperienced fundraiser, I had no idea what to expect, or how to go about asking for donations for my week-long trip to Haiti at the end of April [to work as a midwife in the north-east town of Hinche]. I figured that my friends and family might be able to give me a few small donations, and so I sent out an email to see what I could get.

I was completely overwhelmed by the response. I received thousands of dollars in monetary donations, more than 100lbs of children and baby clothing, supplies for new mothers, prenatal vitamins, school supplies, linens, and 22lb of diapers! The medical equipment I was able to purchase included 2 Dopplers and 4 fetoscopes for listening to the fetal heart, 6 sets of instruments for birthing and stitching if needed, multiple tests for amniotic fluid and urine, suctioning equipment, and medications for new babies.

I am leaving with a load of Canadian (and American) generosity for the people of Haiti

She left today.  You can follow her on her blog  http://jenni2haiti.wordpress.com

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Wandering, Wondering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

