wondering… breakfast at the computer

yes I admit I eat my breakfast at the computer.

I’m not the only one who eats breakfast here

am I?

Usually all goes well.

but not this morning!

I feel like Alexander, in  Judith Viorst’s poem “Alexander and the Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day”

Book Cover

I always manage to balance my egg on my toast while checking the morning’s correspondence.

I’d barely started today when some yolk slid onto the corner of the computer (just missing the keyboard!)  I wiped it up, took another bite, and yolk spilled in the other direction onto my new jeans. While I pondered whether to go back and change,  the rest of the egg slipped off the bread and landed on the floor.

at which point Mr F started laughing (hah! hah!)

when I didn’t join in the laughter  (was the mess on the floor a *sign* to go back to bed? Call in sick?)

Mr F kindly offered to make me another egg.

No thanks!

and now I’m going to be late for work, and I havent changed my pants, and if you come to my cash register don’t say anything about the stain on my pants

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Tutto va bene, Wondering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to wondering… breakfast at the computer

  1. Mahalia says:

    awww… sorry your day started like that. i always wonder when things like that happen, “am i meant to take this as a sign?”, “does this mean pause, rewind, do-over?”. Or, are we not supposed to read into these things because they are just things that happen? On a good morning, dropping egg on my outfit might not perturb me in the least, while on a morning when things feel hard and not flow-y, egg on outfit feels like a minor catastrophe.

    Perspective is interesting, isn’t it?

    • dearrosie says:

      so true what you said about our perspective coloring the situation. I was tired this morning and that’s why the egg on the floor upset me so much

  2. linda rena goluboff says:

    hi wondering rose,
    i truely admire your way of writing. it brings a smile to me face. keep writing i admire you. and i love your tales!!!!!!!!!!!
    love,
    linda

  3. linda rena goluboff says:

    i love your writing and your tales, it brings a smile to my face. good for you.

  4. jess says:

    I was smeared not with yolk this morning before work, but with snot. I would prefer yolk!
    jess

  5. mj says:

    all i can think of is – the yolk is on you! (ie yolk/joke)

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

