7.2 earthquake in Baja California

“A magnitude 7.2 quake struck this afternoon – Easter Sunday – at 3:40 p.m. in the Mexican state of Baja California. According to the U.S. Geological Survey, the epicenter was about 20 miles south of the California border, and 108 miles south-east of Tijuana.

The quake, which was a ‘swaying kind’, was felt across Southern California and even parts of Arizona by more than 20 million people.”

We didn’t feel the quake at the museum, because it’s built on top of solid rock, but Mr F did. He was at home, and when the floor started swaying he first thought he was dizzy, but as soon the dishes in the cupboards rattled, and the lights above the dining table swayed, he knew it was a quake.

Driving home from work I heard a radio interview with Dr Lucy Jones of Caltech. She said in the few days after the quake there’s a very good chance that there could be a “triggered earthquake” of around magnitude 6.0. 

I went straight to the supermarket  to get some emergency supplies of bottled water, and stood in the check out line behind  “Newman” from the Seinfeld show.  

Newman (portrayed by Wayne Knight)—An overweight and despicable, though curiously well-educated postal worker. He is known as Kramer’s accomplice and Jerry’s nemesis and is a neighbor of both (Apartment 5E). He usually goes out of his way to make Jerry’s life miserable. He also loves eating and being obnoxious in Jerry’s apartment. 

There have been multiple aftershocks.  We’ll know more tomorrow.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Wondering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 7.2 earthquake in Baja California

  1. Alan Goluboff says:

    Thankyou for the geological update. Keep writing and I will keep reading. Love your masthead photo and the early Italian ones.

  2. Dinah says:

    Oh, my gosh! Tell Mr. F that I thought I was dizzy, too!! I was eating lunch and started to feel woozy, so I went in the living room to lay down on the couch. It was only a few minutes later, when I got up and noticed that the chandelier was swaying that I realized we’d had an earthquake! Isn’t that funny?

  3. Tim & I had a similar experience in 2011, when a 5.8 quake centered in Virginia was felt as far north as Maine. Tim was at work and felt it but I was less than 2 miles away, at home, and didn’t feel a thing. My sister is a geologist and she loved explaining to us why this was so. 🙂

    But methinks our little earthquakes are not nearly as impressive as the ones you guys get in California!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Barbara,
      I didn’t realize that you had earthquakes in Virginia. You didn’t feel a thing even though you were 2 miles away, yet people in Maine felt it. Why not?

      We had a 4.4 earthquake last week (its epicenter was in Brentwood so we all felt it)

      • I see from the evening news last night that you have had another quake in your area. Please stay safe, Rosie.

        I don’t remember the details of Beverly’s explanation, but it had something to do with what the foundations of the buildings are resting on – I think if it’s bedrock it’s more likely to move and be felt, but softer earth absorbs the shock and is less likely to be felt.

        I wrote a little history of earthquakes in Connecticut a few years ago, if you’re curious:
        http://www.ingebrita.net/archives/4846

      • dearrosie says:

        Thanks for your concern Barbara. We are OK. In the March quake a few little sculptures fell off the TV and one lost its head.
        I think the explanation I heard was that the whole of LA is built on sand – not bedrock – and that sand is unstable ground which will move more during an earthquake.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

