Julie and Julia – Bon Appetit

Mr F and I finally watched the movie Julie and Julia last night.  I’m not a film critic, but I thought Meryl Streep’s performance as Julia Child was “splendid”, and more than once I thought we were watching the legendary chef herself.    

I can’t imagine how Julie Powell managed to cook her way through the entire Mastering the Art of French Cooking as well as work full time, and commute from Queens. I thought I was doing a lot to write this blog after standing at work all day, and with an hour-long commute, but after work I don’t have to buy ingredients, and then stand at the stove cooking 524 recipes for 350 days.  

When I watched Meryl Streep with a mountain of onions next to her on the kitchen table as she perfected the art of chopping them (didn’t you love that scene?) I thought of  the magazine article I read recently, where she said she didn’t have any good food memories from her childhood: 

My mother had a lot of things she wanted to do, and cooking wasn’t one of them,” Ms Streep said. “When I was 10 I went to a friend’s house. She and her mother were sitting at the table doing something to tennis balls.  I asked them, ‘What are you doing?’ 
‘We’re making mashed potatoes,’ they said
‘What do you mean? Mashed potatoes come in a box,’ I said.
They were peeling potatoes. I had never seen a potato.”
About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Tutto va bene and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Julie and Julia – Bon Appetit

  1. Mahalia says:

    mom, i read this post this am, and all day i kept thinking, “how can someone not know what a potato looks like???”. i can’t believe meryl streep was one of those people! i also thought she was great in that role.

    thanks for sharing that story.

  2. jess says:

    if i was irish i would keel over at this revelation!

  3. margie says:

    jamie oliver would relate to this story. i guess you know he is in Huntington, West Virginia trying to get the people to eat real food – one family he went to help only ate frozen and boxed and canned food all in the same grey/brown colour. there was no fresh anything in sight and of course, there were the boxes of “mashed potatoes”.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

