earthquake in Los Angeles: 4.4 at 4:04 a.m…

I woke up around 4 a.m. this morning to hear the windows rattling. It took me a few moments to register, “ohmygod an earthquake“.  I grabbed Mr F’s hand as I waited for the rest of the quake, but that was all. A few moments later everything was quiet once more.  I was too rattled to go back to sleep and tossed and turned the rest of the night.  

“I’m exhausted. I didn’t get back to sleep after the quake,” I told Mr F at breakfast this morning.
and he said, “What earthquake?”
(Pico Rivera, CA) – A 4.4 magnitude temblor rocked the Los Angeles area this morning at 4:04 a.m.  The earthquake was centered near Pico Rivera, a city of about 63,000.  It’s estimated that millions of people were shaken awake in the area, about ten miles east of downtown L.A.
 
While the earthquake is considered light by the U.S. Geological Survey, it was centered in the highly-populated Los Angeles basin, and felt throughout a wide region.  The USGS Shakemap shows the strongest movement was felt in the area between downtown L.A. and Disneyland.
 
The earthquake buckled the heavily traveled Interstate-5, which created major morning rush-hour traffic jams as crews worked to fix problems in the Southbound lanes.
 
People as far north as Ventura and as far south as the San Diego area reported feeling the temblor.  This Cal Tech ShakeMovie visually shows you how the earthquake waves moved across the Southern California region.
 
and this from LA Times:

Earthquakes with a magnitude of 4 are actually quite common in Southern California, occurring somewhere in the region every month or two. The last magnitude 4 earthquake in the region occurred Saturday in a remote area of northern San Diego County near Anza Borrego.

“It’s all location, location, location,” said Kate Hutton, a seismologist at Caltech. “The only thing that distinguishes this [morning’s earthquake] is that it happened in a populated area.”

The quake appeared to be triggered by a thrust fault, in which one side of a fault slides over another, Hutton said. It was still unclear which fault caused the quake. 

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in America, Wondering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to earthquake in Los Angeles: 4.4 at 4:04 a.m…

  1. Peter Robin says:

    Earthquake eh? I guess it must have been kinda scary though i know you get them quite often in California.

    I only ever felt an earthquake once and that was around 4.0 as i remember it was centered around the Dudley area (about 15 miles or so from where we live didnt cause much damage but it still woke me up and was pretty scary as we arent used to them.
    Peter and Pam

  2. margie says:

    what fun – what a pity R missed the whole thing.
    i hope you feel more rested today.

  3. dearrosie says:

    Peter – I have gotten used to the little tremors where the glasses in the kitchen cupboards tinkle..

    Margie – Thanks I do feel better today

  4. cahla says:

    Teehee, that’s a funny story now that we know everything has turned out well!

    There was once a wee little quake somewhere in Ohio, or thereabouts, that about three people felt in Toronto – obviously me included, because I feel these kinds of things.

    It was in the morning at 131 Strathearn. I was still in bed, wondering for how much longer I would lie in bed, when I felt things shake a bit. I got so scared so quickly, that I leaped out of bed and thought, “Oh my god it’s an earthquake. What’s a person supposed to do to stay safe in an earthquake?! I know, I’m supposed to stand under a doorway since it’s more structural!” So I swung open my bedroom door with my back to the doorframe, trying to feel if things were still shaking. They weren’t. Then I realized that I was completely kaalgat, standing in a doorway with my uncle Jeff in the room behind the closed door across the hall! Oy vay, if he’d have opened his door I would have been so embarrassed. I went back into my room, got dressed and ran downstairs to share “I was ________ when the earthquake hit” stories, but no one had any idea what I was talking about.

    So my family and your Mr. F all missed the fun! I hope no more of this earthquake business will happen your way, Rosie!

    • dearrosie says:

      Thanks for sharing your earthquake story Cahla. Did you tell your Uncle Jeff what he missed in the doorway? Heh heh.
      I woke up at 4:04 again last night and tossed and turned, until my alarm told me I could get up.

  5. Barbara Rodgers says:

    I think I would find even a “minor” earthquake an unsettling experience! I might even be tempted to sleep with my clothes on if I lived where you do! I’m glad there was no serious damage. Do you anchor your bookcases (if you have tall ones) to the wall? I think perhaps I should look into doing that….

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

