Wandering: Anza-Borrego Desert State Park

In case someone other than my mother reads this and you’ve wondered about my silence the past few weeks (hah!) I am well, and my family are all well thank you.  This is the time of year when people in the great-white-north remember their friends who live in warmer parts of the continent, and several wanderers have already found their way chez-nous. I enjoy the company, but when our spare room is occupied it means my time at the keyboard is limited.

Last week we spent a few days hiking in the Anza Borrego Desert State Park. It covers more than 600,000 acres east of San Diego: from Riverside Country in the north, almost to the Mexican border.

Nearly two-thirds of the Park is pristine wilderness, sheltering an astonishing proliferation of plant and animal life, including the endangered Peninsular Bighorn Sheep….Native Americans hunted and gathered here as long as 5,000 years ago.

the 3 of us on the road into Anza Borrego

Most people come to the desert to see the wildflowers. Although it’s not officially spring yet, they’ve had good rains this winter, and several of the plants were flowering, for example the red chuparosa bush, which is almost leafless when in bloom.

Chuparosa in bloom - Borrego Palm Canyon

We stayed in one of the charming cabins at Warner Springs Ranch about 25 miles away. In the evenings we soaked our tired limbs in the large outdoor swimming pool, fed by the same hot Springs where Kit Carson bathed about a hundred-and-fifty years ago. I don’t like the cold and have never before voluntarily gone into an open air pool at night when the outdoor temps are below 50 degrees F, so I didn’t jump into the cold pool. Mr F and M did, and claimed they felt refreshed.   Maybe next time we go there I’ll be brave enough to try it, but I somehow doubt it.  The hot water was perfect for me.

I used a purse on the trip that I haven’t used for a while, and found this on a piece of paper:

“People can be so open minded that their brains fall out.”

I have no  idea where I got it, so can’t acknowledge the author.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Wandering, Wondering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wandering: Anza-Borrego Desert State Park

  1. Susan says:

    How did you like Warner Springs Ranch. I have been considering a stay there as we like Hot Springs and would apprediate an unbiased opinion of the accomodations and the restaurant.

  2. dearrosie says:

    We liked that the rooms were individual little cabins, loved being able to soak in the hot pool after a day’s hiking, but we weren’t impressed with the dinner at the restaurant. Breakfast was good.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

