Museum musing: “mark books”

Yesterday a beautifully dressed Italian woman, who spoke almost no English, asked for something she called “Mark Books”. I didn’t understand her, and asked a co-worker for help, but he just shrugged and walked away.  She took her pen and put it down on the page and closed the book. Perhaps she wanted to write? I showed her a journal. 

“No! No!” she said. That I understood.  

I know how frustrating it is to be a tourist unable to speak the language, so I closed my eyes and listened to the word in my head… Did she mean “Book Mark“?   Voila!  

After I showed her where to find the book marks, she asked what the correct word was, but couldn’t understand me or my accent. I had to write it out for her. She walked around the store holding the piece of paper, muttering “Booke marke” in her lilting Italian accent.

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Museum Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

