the next step of my journey…

Hello!

talking

Yours truly (photo credit: Jolly de Guzman).

I’ll assume you’re glad to see me :-)  but want to know where I’ve been?

I gave myself permission to take a blogging-break far from the madding crowd to  reconnect with the peace, acceptance and happiness from living in the *now* that I discovered in Spain.

Have you ever been in the company of someone who really-truly lives in present moment awareness?

I feel very fortunate that I met Mathew B [below] last year. After spending more than a decade meditating at an isolated mountain Ashram in India, he wasn’t distracted by any internal chattering, or the people around us at the party where we met, but could instantly focus on the *now* of our conversation.

Mathew

Mathew B

It was humbling and inspiring.

Being present means paying attention to the now, without thinking of the past, projecting yourself into the future, analyzing what’s happening or wondering what could happen. It’s just being there.

When I walked along the Camino far from the stresses of grid-locked traffic, constant communication, and any obligations, all I had to do to get to the present moment was listen to my breathing as I put one foot in front of the other, and once my mind stopped wandering the warmth from the sun would fill my soul with happiness, and the world seemed brighter.

I’ve spent many hours during these past few months tramping around Southern California with my wandering mindI highly recommend the services of my personal trainer, Signor Monty-Carlo, and not only because I’m able to fit into my favorite jeans, but he’s taught me that it’s okay to spend a day silently walking barefoot on a beach with no expectations other than being there, and if he wants to investigate any of the messages left by others I’ve learned to enjoy the moment with him: when he sniffs, I breathe.

My one frustration is I can’t yet speak his language. Any advice?

My personal trainer is always ready for a cuddle

Hiking with my personal trainer (photo credit Mr F.)

While I’ve been off-line, my blog hasn’t entirely gone to sleep – our posts are always “out there” – and buried in the middle of the spam I’ve had two interesting visitors:

1.

When we were in South Africa in 2011 I took this photo, and without knowing anything about Ted Grant (I assumed he was South African) I used it in a post where I explained it’s easier to photograph signs than people.

Ted Grant's quote

Ted Grant’s quote

Dr Ted Grant found the photo on my blog earlier this year. He’s a Canadian photojournalist who lives in British Columbia:

Your photograph is of a quotation of mine I used in lectures many years ago while I was chasing about the world as a photojournalist. I was never in South Africa, and that makes it an even greater mystery!

There is a biography being published later this year covering my 60 years as a photojournalist. If possible might you send me any details you may have about the tablet? These will be passed onto the National Archives of Canada who have a personal collection of my photography in the number of 280,000 images. And our National Gallery have another 100,000.

The largest collection by a single photographer in the history of Canada.  [Wow!]

Thanks to sleuthing help from my friend Linda S, I was able to tell him his quotation is on the floor of a mall in Johannesburg i.e. “in the Rosebank zone, at the north entrance to Woolworths”.

2. 

If you walk the Camino you’ll see this memorial to Myra Brennan about twenty kilometers from Santiago de Compostela. 

plaque to Myra Brennan

plaque to Myra Brennan 

I used the photo last year in a post about Spain, without being able to find anything on the internet about Myra Brennan or Bridget F.

Two months ago Bridget F found my blog!  The internet is mind-boggling.

Submitted on 2013/08/30 at 11:34 am

Greetings from Ireland and Kilkenny,
I am the Bridget F who put a plaque up to my dear pal Myra Breenan in 2008. No she was not in pain, while her postmortem said she had a tumor which had not yet presented itself. She died as she lived, full of life and fun. She and I loved the outdoors together.
Twas a shock, but for Myra, way to go in beautiful Santiago having finished her Camino.
I completed the French Camino this year marking her 10th anniversary But (Accidentally!! as if – doing a 26km night walk on that very night she passed on – with 10 other crazy lunes under a full moon from Carrion de las condes.. She lives on the Camino.
God bless all Camino minded folk
Bridget F 30th/08/13

I wouldn’t know how to begin trying to explain this to someone like my father who died almost thirty years ago.  He’d think it implausible that a woman in Ireland, and a man in Canada were able to find my vacation photographs in my “journal” (which I call  Wondering Rose) while in their own homes, and without using the Postal Service.

DSCN2837

Does this post mean I’ll be blogging regularly again? 

I’m not going to stop blogging,  but for the near future I’ll only be posting now and then.

While it’s not possible for me to meditate at a remote retreat to reach deeper levels of  inner-calm like Mathew, I feel I’ve made a darn good start in getting my thinking mind to shut-up, and I’m not going to go back to the frantic multi-tasking person I was last spring. I can’t.

I left my computer at home during our vacation in Northern California last week, which meant I wasn’t distracted by electronic devices and could stay in the *now* enjoying each moment of Max and Melanie’s wedding, the farm where we stayed, and our strenuous hike along the Blue-ridge trail overlooking Lake Berryessa.

Synchronicity? As if I needed confirmation that I’m on the right track wanting to spend time outside with my personal trainer I just discovered a book [which I still have to read and will report back once I do] called Your Brain on Nature: The Science of Nature’s Influence on Your Health, Happiness and Vitality in which the authors Eva Selhub, MD, and Alan Logan N.D. explain how important it is to detox from IT overload with the  healing effects of nature:

 Scientific studies have shown that walking in nature has been associated with heightened physical and mental energy.

DSCN5603 Sincere thanks to all my blogging buddies who wrote to inquire whether I was okay.
:-)

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Photography, Tutto va bene, Wandering, Wondering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to the next step of my journey…

  1. Jeremy says:

    Beautiful! To stop and just breathe is the simplest of things—so simple that I constantly need to be reminded of it. Thank you :)

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for taking the time to write me a comment Jeremy. I’m so happy to know you enjoyed my post.

      We aren’t aware that we’re breathing. We just do it. I wonder whether you realize that our breathing and our minds are connected? When your mind is calm, you’ll breath deeper and slower but if you’re feeling tense, upset or agitated your breathing will become irregular.

  2. Mahalia says:

    what a beautiful post! I salute you and support you in being in the moment, and in having many beautiful walks and wanders.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for leaving me such a lovely comment Mahalia. I’m truly delighted to know you like my post enough to salute me. Namaste :-) Here’s to sharing many beautiful walks and wanders….

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    You seem to be on a track you desire … so carry on! :)

  4. Oh Rosie, it’s so nice to see you back in such a serene state of mind and spirit. I’m glad you were able to disconnect from technology and be present in nature, yet you were still able to connect with people in the far- flung world. Life is amazing sometimes, isn’t it? Hugs to you! Xxx

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Cathy,
      I’m delighted to know to know you didn’t forget me. So lovely to see you right back here after my long absence and your big trip back home :-). Many ((hugs)) back to you.

      It really is astonishing to think how rapidly and easily our stories on our blogs race around the world but don’t disappear most probably to remain “out there” for all time?

      • I think you’re right, Rosie. Our stories may be “out there” for all time, unlike even a book which could go into the Cemetery of Lost Books, as in the book: Shadow of the Wind. :-)

        And of course, I couldn’t forget you! :-)

  5. Such an amazing and inspiring post, Rosie!! I am really proud of the deep work that you’ve been doing (and that you’ve shared with us, ever since the Camino — which you were the FIRST person to introduce me to — and consequently, I’ve heard in a hundred other places). I love seeing the photos of you looking so happy outside and completely in your element– and I have to say, in the last 6 months it has totally occurred to me, too, that I am absolutely the happiest when I’m out walking … FAR … and that really nothing feels better. It started with Banff … but it’s been an ongoing thing … and I am really hoping that I can keep it going. Maybe this is the real meaning of the Rest of Our Life?? Let’s get out there!

    • dearrosie says:

      My dear Betty,
      To learn that you’ve also discovered your happy place is up there on the hills gives me the biggest thrill. If only you could see me – I’m jumping up and down with a huge foolish grin plastered over my face… Hooray for Betty Hooray for Banff :D

      And I’m sure you were amazed to discover how easy it all is: all you have to do is put on comfortable shoes, and let your feet lead you! What do you think stopped you from trying it before: “fear” or laziness or – - – -?

      I knew that the Camino would become extremely popular after Martin Sheen popularized it in the movie “The Way” and that’s what actually propelled me to go last year just ahead of the hordes…. and as I predicted the numbers of American pilgrims are up 25% this year. My cousin went in April this year and even though it was still winter and a cold one, and she walked in the middle of the route, far from Santiago, the hostels were all full. Yikes :-(

  6. adinparadise says:

    A wonderful and very interesting post, Rose. Rosebank was my favourite shopping place when I was living in Saxonwold for almost 20 years. I must have walked over that Ted Grant quote, many times. :)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Sheila,
      I’m so happy to see you back here after my long absence. :D
      I didn’t realize you lived in South Africa. I thought you came from the U.K.

      Next time you’re in Rosebank I’m sure you’ll notice the quote – there are about half a dozen on the ground in that part of the mall.
      Of course Nelson Mandela “It always seems impossible until its done”, and a few odd people like Leonardo, John Gardiner, Erich Fromm.

      • adinparadise says:

        At the moment, I live in near Durban for 6 months of the year, and here in Florida for the other six months. I will be going to Johannesburg next march, so if I go the Rosebank, I’ll look out for these. :) Sylvia

  7. Great to have a post from you, Rosie. Somehow I had missed the fact that you had done the Camino. Someone in my writing group here in Cuenca did it recently. Sounds like you are, indeed, finding your way. Lovely post, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • dearrosie says:

      Hola Kathy,
      I walked on the Camino last year in May, and I think I only met you in September after my post on my daughter’s marriage. I’d wanted to do that walk for almost 20 years and I wasn’t disappointed – it was a life-changing experience and as you can see, one that is still trickling down.

      I’m really glad I went last year because the numbers of pilgrims walking it this year has gone way-way up influenced no doubt from Martin Sheen’s movie “The Way”. When you walk along those ancient paths you don’t want to feel as if you’re in Central Park.

      If you’re interested, I’ve written a few posts on my experience. The easiest way to find them is at the top of my blog under “Hikes”.

  8. A big hug to you, Rosie.

    I find it fascinating that your children write such loving messages to your blog posts and you always thank them with such honest gratitude and am yet to see such a relationship between members of the same family — in the blogging world, or otherwise. It is exemplary, to say the least.

    Onward, Peregrina!

    • dearrosie says:

      My dear P,
      Why am I not surprised that you noticed my conversation with my kids? You’re such an astute observer! Thank you for your kind words – I love being called a “Peregrina”!
      Yes my children and I respect each other. My family don’t often leave me comments on my blog and when my children do it usually means they liked the post, which I think is a huge complement.

  9. restlessjo says:

    It is peculiar how this blogging world of ours works, Rose. I was reading Cathy’s latest exploits and saw that she had commented on yours (as well as fabulous photgrapher Ron Mayhew). There’s never enough time but my curious feet took me to both your blogs and I was delighted at what I found. His for the most stunning shots of India and yours for your wisdom and growing peace of mind.
    I never travel with anything but camera and notebook and find it remarkably easy to leave the “real” world behind. Nice catching up with you, Rose. Enjoy the journey :)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Jo,
      I’m delighted that your curious feet led you here. It feels so good to know my blogging friends haven’t forgotten me.

      Thanks for pointing me in Ron Mayhew’s direction. I was bowled over by his photos of India

      http://ronmayhewphotography.wordpress.com/2013/10/03/india-a-land-of-color/

      I’m happy to to know you’re a kindred soul who travels without her computer.
      Thank you for including your good wishes for my journey. I have no idea where the next step will take me, but I’m not worried, I’m ready for anything

  10. So good to hear from you here at your site! I came right over when I noted it was you, really you. So glad you fit into your favorite jeans. It’s gratifying to know there’s still a bit more wear in them, places to walk, things to enjoy without fuss…just enjoy and be. You appear very happy in your photos. Speaking about gratifying, how wonderful to hear from two kindred souls who found you at your blog. I can’t help but pause a bit longer on Ted Grant’s quote and think the black and white of the printed word reveals our soul.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Georgette,
      Thanks for your great message. It’s so heart-warming that my blogging friends haven’t forgotten me. :-)

      I must say I find it awfully exciting when strangers find their pictures on my blog. Have you had similar visits at your blog?

      I think Ted Grant’s quote is brilliant and I couldn’t walk past without photographing it, but so many people have owned up – either here or to my email – that though they’ve been to that mall in Johannesburg many-many times they’ve never noticed the quotes on the floor!

  11. We were in Turkey and were with someone who lives in a town on the Camino – she said it was beautiful and pops off for various, ‘walks’ when she can. We thought of you.
    As for your trainer, Mr F can speak his language and as discussed before with you, dogs are people too. Just listen and Mr. F will teach you :-)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello and welcome Linda,
      It gives me the warm fuzzies to know you thought of me in Turkey. :D Europeans are so bloody lucky that they live close enough to Spain that they can simply pop over to walk short sections.

      I think its because I understand that dogs are people that I’m trying to learn Monty-Carlo’s language. When he puts on the brakes and refuses to walk the direction I’m taking I have to stop and negotiate the route with him.

      Coincidentally did you see the article in yesterday’s New York Times: Dogs Are People, Too
      “…By looking directly at their brains and bypassing the constraints of behaviorism, M.R.I.’s can tell us about dogs’ internal states….”

      http://www.nytimes.com/2013/10/06/opinion/sunday/dogs-are-people-too.html?smid=fb-share&_r=0

  12. Terry says:

    Beautiful, Roseanne! I am sure Matthew will love being present in your blog about being in the moment — SO where we all need to be. . . . .!!

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello and welcome Terry,
      Many thanks for taking the trouble to leave me a comment. :-)

      Whew, I’m so happy that you think Mathew would approve if he knew that I’d included him in this post of being in the moment.

  13. sybil says:

    Wonderful post Rosie. You are so right. Funny or ironic that in the first photo you appear to be talking on a cell phone! ;-)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Sybil,
      So lovely to see you back here. Merci boucoup mon amie :D

      I’m so glad you noticed that I was on the phone. I wondered whether anyone would notice. I specially chose that picture because I was saying “Hello y’all..”
      Why was I speaking on Mr F’s phone during a hike? My son phoned.

  14. Rosie, what a formative summer it has been. Lovely to hear from you: it’s such a noisy world out there, and good to hear from someone who values the now.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Kate,
      Thank you for popping over. It makes me so happy to see you haven’t forgotten me.
      I highly recommend taking a break not only to discover the *now* but to discover ourselves – we don’t spend enough time getting to know ourselves.

  15. Kathy says:

    Oh how nice to see you’re still going to blogging once-in-a-while, Rosie. I feel like blogging (or too much mental stimulation of any kind) can take us out of the precious moment of now. It seems important to be able to back away when that happens and reconnect with the source of life. Someone recently suggested that we shut down when we turn to retreat for awhile, but I disagree. It more feels like we open up. Glad to know you are opening.

    • dearrosie says:

      Thank you for popping over Kathy. You understand exactly what I mean, I guess its because you’ve discovered the joy of living in the present moment when you go to the retreats. It’s true I am opening. Wow I love that.

      Most people don’t realize how important it is to give yourself a chance to back away to recharge and reconnect with the *now* because they don’t know how to be in the moment.

  16. Robin says:

    Beautiful post, Rosie. It’s so good to hear from you again, and I think once in a while is perfect. I need a personal trainer like the one you have, as it seems that kind of trainer really knows how to live in the moment, and teach that lesson to us (and all without speaking the same language!). :)

    • dearrosie says:

      I’m so happy to see you back here again Robin. I think you’d really enjoy your daily walks with a four legged friend. Why do I think you had a dog in your previous home? Or was it a cat.
      You’ve given me an idea – I should start a business hiring out the services of my personal trainer. :-)

      More synchronicity. In today’s yoga class the teacher began by talking about the importance of living in the moment, in the *now*, which in Sanskrit, is “atha” the divine present moment.

      [Patanjali began the first Sutra with these words “Atha Yoganushasanam” which means “Now, (start with) the discipline of yoga” ]

  17. shoreacres says:

    Oh, my dear Rosie! It’s so good to see you’re “at home” for a moment. You look great, and so happy, and of course that makes me happy!

    I really have enjoyed the comments, both yours and others, about walking and being “in the now”. I know exactly what you mean, but for me, it’s a road trip that does that! I’m taking off for something like ten days this month, and will be doing a great loop – up to see my aunt, west through Kansas, down through the panhandle to visit Palo Duro Canyon and a weaver in west Texas. In both cases, it’s the “being unplugged” that makes the difference, I think. Where we travel and how we travel isn’t so important as the traveling itself.

    Speaking of making connections through blogging, I was contacted by someone who’d read about my gr-gr-grandfather Crowley in a couple of posts. As it turns out, we’re cousins! My gr-gr-gramps David was the older brother of HER gr-gr-grampa Hans! I even have some stories of her grandfather that I sent along to her. Once I get some of this organized, we’ll be getting together – she lives in Texas, too!

    • dearrosie says:

      Really happy to welcome you back Linda.

      I keep discovering other bloggers who’ve taken breaks this past summer for example, the writer Dominique Browning – who has written for publications like The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, New York magazine, etcetera – wrote a post today:

      “I didn’t mean to take a break. I didn’t mean to go away for so long.
      Without even saying goodbye. It just happened.

      Sometimes you don’t know what you need till it’s done. This summer, I
      needed to get very quiet. I needed to think, but more than that, I needed to
      stare into space….”

      http://www.slowlovelife.com/2013/10/i-guess-i-took-break.html

      I certainly know what you mean about the pleasure of going on long road trips, Mr F and I have always loved jumping in the car for another adventure in the car. In 1972 we spent seven months driving around Europe in a VW van.

      You didn’t know the family of your gr-gr-grampas younger brother Hans, or that they lived in Texas? Wow that is the *best* blogging connection story I’ve ever heard. I look forward to hearing about your meeting!

      I’m sure it wasn’t unnusual for young men who settled in this vast country in the mid 1800′s – which is when I assume your gr-gr-grandpa emigrated to America – to lose touch with their relatives. I know how hard it was for my father to sit down and write letters to his parents in Palestine (and now that I think of it, I don’t recall him ever speaking to them on the phone!)

  18. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Rose, what a surprise to come today to my bookmark for your blog, to click on it, and to discover that you had returned and posted after being away for a few months. I’m relieved to learn that you haven’t been ill and that instead you have been living in the moment. That is something that I try to do but fail miserably most of the time. My brain is so busy, bopping from thought to thought: what I’m going to do in the next half hour, the next half day, this evening, tomorrow morning, next week. ETC. ETC. So many thought that the mind is never at peace and at One with the Universe. I so admire and applaud the letting go you’ve done and the welcoming of the healing touch of nature through your personal trainer and through the gift of wind, sand, and stars. I live with three personal trainers–Ellie, Maggie, and Matthew. These three felines try to show me each what living in the present and in Presence means. But I just continue to think and do and think some more. I do so hope that you will post more about your journey as I think it will help motivate me to begin my own journey to stillness again. Peace.

  19. dearrosie says:

    Hello Dee,
    Thank you for writing to let me know you care. It gives me much pleasure to know how many of my blogging buddies didn’t forget me. :-)

    You can learn a lot about silence and being in the *now* from your cats. Just being on the couch with a cat on your lap can still your mind if you give yourself permission to take the time to do nothing but be still, and listen to your breathing – and even if its only one minute at a time – you’re still meditating as long as you aren’t hanging onto thoughts of chores and errands and blogging while sitting there….

    Spending all this time alone is something new for me, and I’ve been enjoying the silence of my solitary hikes.

  20. E fullstop says:

    Wow, what amazing happenstance! I hesitate to call it coincidence, because it seems much more meaningful than that to have folks from halfway around the world find you when you didn’t even know you were looking. I’m so glad you’re living each day to your own rhythm now and that life is clay in your hands. I’m sure you’ll make something beautiful out of it.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello dear e fullstop,
      I totally agree with your choice of the word “happenstance” instead of coincidence. It would have been the perfect one word subject for this post, but oh man when I read your closing sentences I felt like clay in your hands. As well as being an e-fullstop, you’re an incredibly gifted wordsmith! I’m eager to see what shape my clay takes…

      I’ve had several email conversations with Dr Ted Grant who is a charming man, with a delightful sense of humor, but unfortunately Brigit F gave a false email address on her comment …

  21. souldipper says:

    Rosie, what a great post! It was just about time for me to check in with you again. After a burst of contact, you suddenly became silent again. However, I suspected you were doing all you needed to do for yourself and your journey.

    Having you post again is like having a family member drop a line confirming that character is in tact and growth continues. Good photos – especially the ones of Mr. F and you. You two are a handsome couple!

    Your choice of trainers is impeccable. I’ve wondered if I would embark upon dog ownership again after Duc le Chat has finished life with me. I would have one very faithful walk buddy!

    • dearrosie says:

      My dear Amy,
      What a lovely comment. Merci mon amie. I’m always happy to know you’ve enjoyed your visit to my little blog.

      On this part of my journey I’m happiest when I can spend my days tramping outdoors with my personal trainer, and though I sometimes come inside to lie on my yoga mat, I’m enjoying my freedom and am not ready to come back to being a blogger.

      I highly recommend dog ownership.

  22. bronxboy55 says:

    I was going to send you an email to see how you’re doing, and thought I’d visit your blog first, just in case. I’m glad to know you’re doing well and feeling less frantic. I look forward to reading your words and seeing your images, whenever the time is right for you.

    • dearrosie says:

      hello Charles,
      You always leave a kind message. Thank you. I’m so grateful to know that so many of my blogging buddies haven’t forgotten me.

      I guess I’ll come back to blogging when the time is right for me. I still need to spend my days tramping outdoors with my personal trainer, and though I sometimes come inside to lie on my yoga mat, I’m enjoying the freedom and am not ready to come back to being a blogger.

  23. valzart says:

    Wonderful to meet you Rosie & a fabulous blog :~} Valz ♥ :

  24. Val says:

    A fleeting visit to comment on your post because, as you know, I am on a similar path (not the Camino, alas!) and have stopped blogging. It’s no surprise to me that nature helps one ‘detox’ from the internet and the rest of the crazy world. I live in a beautiful place and am so glad of it. :-)

    As for how to speak dog… well, say after me: “ark bark bark bark ark.” That, roughly translated means: you’re doing okay! ;-)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Val,
      I’m delighted to know you were here even though you’re not blogging. Thank you for taking time to leave me such a lovely comment. “Woof-woof”

      I’m glad you’re now able to enjoy the beautiful part of the world where you live. Are you walking along your country lanes?

  25. munchow says:

    Hello, Rosanne, nice to have you back!

  26. Arindam says:

    Beautiful post Rosie Auntie. I am glad to see you back. It seems like you had a great break from blogging. But you say, you will blog every now and then; does it mean the break is not over yet. :) Enjoy your break and have a great time.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Arindam,
      Thank you for visiting. It gives me much pleasure to see you here and know you haven’t forgotten me.
      Yes, I’m still enjoying my break and am not ready to come back to regular blogging.

  27. daisy says:

    Rosie — welcome back! What an amazing series of events you experienced through your photos and comments. Thanks for sharing such great stories. It sounds like you are in a very happy, “rosy”, place! :)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi “Daisy”
      I’m so happy to see you here because it means you’re blogging again. I’ve missed you and must come over to your blog and catch up with your news.

      It’s true, I am in a very happy “rosy” place. It feels so good not to be stressed on the hamster wheel. When I walk on the beach these days I automatically take off my shoes, and when I walk with my personal trainer and he wants to sniff at every tree and piece of grass I don’t even think of pulling him away. It’s so sad to see how many dog walkers yank the leash…

  28. Madhu says:

    You talk of your father……your story is incredible enough for me Rosie!! Thank you for a beautiful post and the timely reminder. And welcome back :-)

  29. It’s amazing how blogging can bring people together. The quotes and messages you took led you meet these amazing , talented people, even if it’s in cyberspace. Being away from gadgets can be a great thing to relax, enjoy nature and family, to find solitude. We all need it every now and then to energize and just slow down. Thanks for the recent thoughts and prayers. I appreciate that a lot. Best wishes to you and your family.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello IT,
      So nice to see you back here. Thank you.

      It’s really important to take breaks from everything electronic. I’m really enjoying being able to hear myself think again.

      I hope your family are getting their lives back together after the hurricane. Have your parents managed to get their roof repaired?

  30. Welcome back to the ethersphere Dear Rosie. I missed you. I also wondered if you were plotting a course for a run at nanowrimo. Whatever you are doing – or not doing – seems to be bringing you much happiness and that is what truly matters.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hello Renee
      How very nice to see you back here and know you haven’t forgotten me. :-) Although I’d planned on joining the nanowrimo this year, I had too many other commitments in the beginning of the month and house guests later in the month so I didn’t do it. Did you?

      Many apologies for taking so long to reply.

  31. hey amiga
    may 2014 reward you with even-deeper inner peace for figuring out the keys to allowing your soul to get quiet!
    you’re a beautiful and unique person!
    z

  32. Hi Rosie, I have logged into WP after ages. Felt an instant connection to this post of yours. I just got back from a meditation camp/retreat and understand exactly what you try to say here. Its a struggle for me though, to practice it as well or as much outside of the camp, in my day-to-day life. But I am just so glad to know of it.. that its there & its achievable! Loads of good luck to us both!! :-)

    • dearrosie says:

      My dear AIT,
      What a lovely, delightful surprise to welcome you back here. I apologize for taking so long to reply.

      I’m so glad to hear that you’re also trying to live in the moment. After abusing ourselves with non-stop stress for years and years I think Meditation retreats are the best way to begin to teach our brains how to discover that place of stillness and peace which we’ve buried under mountains of crazy non-stop busy-ness.

      I’ve found walking is the best way to keep myself grounded and myself in the *now*. Try it. Don’t walk because you *have* to – walk because you want to. You don’t have to go far – I usually walk in my neighborhood.

      http://rosannefreed.wordpress.com/2013/03/09/a-walk-in-my-neighborhood/

      • Not at all, Rosie. I am just glad to re-connect, even briefly.
        Your neighbourhood is simply beautiful..

      • dearrosie says:

        Thank you for your follow up comment AIT.
        I am grateful I have such a beautiful neighborhood to walk in. Have you started walking? You’ll be amazed how liberating it can be and how much beauty you’ll find even in neighborhoods that superficially look boring, and don’t forget to look up. On our walk this morning a hummingbird flew circles around me and my dog. My heart always stands still at moments like that :D

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

