“Time…?”

This post is part of  OCCUPY BLOGOSPHERE initiated by Soul Dipper

We sell men's watches. Credit: Wondering Rose

1. At the moment

  • I don’t have enough time to do everything I want or need to do
  • I can’t keep on top of all the writing, reading and commenting that’s expected of a blogger.
  • I need more hours in the day.
  • I go to bed too late, and my body tells me I wake up too early.

I picked up a book in the main store: “The Way Finders – Why Ancient Wisdom Matters” by  Wade Davis, and it opened to this quote:

“In the west time is like gold. You save it, you lose it, you waste it, or you don’t have enough of it.

In the Barasana language there is no word for time.”

- Stephen Hugh-Jones

 I can’t imagine that! Can you?

[Stephen Hugh-Jones was the former head of anthropology at Cambridge who lived in the Amazon jungle among the Barasana in the late 1960′s.]

* * * * *

2. We went to a screening of Oscar nominated short documentaries last Friday night.

There are five movies nominated. We saw four. All of them were excellent.

  • James Spione’s “Incident in New Baghdad’’
  • Lucy Walker’s “The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom’’
  • Daniel Junge’s “Saving Face’’
  • “The Barber of Birmingham’’
  • “God Is the Bigger Elvis,’’

My vote goes to the movie  “Saving Face’’ (scheduled to air March 8 on HBO) a gut wrenching documentary by Daniel Junge about the hundreds of Pakistani women whose husbands threw acid in their faces (for no reason, and usually while they’re sleeping),  and the British plastic surgeon, Mohammad Jawad who travels to Pakistan to try repair the damage.

Click the link to read the review in the Guardian:

Zakia’s face looks as if half of it has been rubbed out. What’s left is one eye, half a nose and a mouth that can no longer smile. She seldom leaves the house, and when she does she wears an all-encompassing black niqab and sunglasses.

The young mother is just one of the 150 victims of acid attacks reported each year in Pakistan, according to the charity Acid Survivors Foundation – although the true figure is likely to be much higher.

Despite his years of training, Jawad admits that he was shocked, “I had not seen anything like it before… Unless acid is neutralised it just keeps going deeper and deeper into your skin…”

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Tutto va bene and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to “Time…?”

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I also would love more hours in the day, and more sleep would be nice also. :)
    What a fantastic quote you found in the book, that is just so true. It is hard for me to imagine a language that doesn’t have a word for time, I can’t quite get my head around that one.

    Although the documentary sounds very interesting, and I have read some articles in other newspapers about this, I don’t think I could actually watch it. What some of these women go through, it is just sickening what is done to them.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mags,
      Nice to know I’m not alone in wanting more hours in the day…
      I love how the book just fell open on the quote I needed to read.

      The documentary is short – only about 25 minutes long. I know how awful it is to watch something like that and I don’t think I would’ve voluntarily gone to see it but I’m so glad I did. I think everyone – male and female – should see it.

  2. larooby says:

    It seems redundant to ‘vote’ or even compare the issues raised as subjects of the documentary short films – all are significant, important, timely, timeless, vital, tragically human, inhumanly tragic, beautiful and terrible, we could go on… such is the weft and web of life that a great documentary film magnifies, grabs forty minutes of your life to inspect and experience another world as a voyeur, then back we go to our busy day…

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi larooby,
      Thank you for writing. I agree that all the documentaries were excellent and heartbreaking (I wept in three of the four we saw) and I forgot them momentarily on leaving the theater when I faced the L.A. traffic, but I will never forget any of them.

      I voted for my favorite because they’re all Oscar nominated films with only one “winner”.

  3. souldipper says:

    That just broke my heart. Again. I cannot imagine how these men live with themselves. What happened to loving kindness? What happened to caring about another soul?

    Oh Rosie. I don’t know how women experiencing this stop themselves from turning into raging maniacs.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Amy,
      I hope you can see the movie. It’s heartbreaking to think that while fast asleep in their beds (the place where one feels safest) is the place where these men chose to attack their wives.

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    Interesting thought about the language without a word for time. This also reminds my of people who wish the day was long, to which I ask, So you can get further behind?

  5. Sybil says:

    I’m a wuss. Saw “Sophie’s Choice” almost 30 years ago and still feel devastated when I recall that movie. I cried off and on for three days after seeing it. I now protect myself from such movies. I just can deal with it …The world makes me so profoundly sad some times.

    As for time, I’m retired, and time is a wonderful thing. I choose how I spend it. Oh, I used the word “spend” as if time was a commodity. Hmmm. To not have a word for time, but to simply exist, sounds very balanced … …

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Sybil
      I was also devastated by “Sophie’s Choice”. As a mother of two children I cannot imagine anyone ever having to make such a choice…

      You’re fortunate that when you retired you were able to move to such a lovely part of the world. I’ve spent lovely holidays at a cottage on a lake without needing a watch. It’s wonderful to wake up when my body wants to wake me up, eat when I’m hungry, but I challenge you to try spend a week without a watch in the city.

  6. Sybil says:

    YIPES — I just CAN’T deal with it …

    Why are typos always on the pivotal words ?!

  7. Now there’s a musing. a culture without a word for time.

  8. A language with no word for time – so hard for my western mind to comprehend… And quantum physics – time being another dimension of space – or something like that… (Every time I think I get it I lose it…)

    I have a hard time watching cruelty portrayed in movies, too. For some inexplicable reason my aunt wanted to see *Hotel Rwanda* for her birthday a few years back – it disturbed me so much that I left before it was a third of the way through and sat in the lobby waiting for the others. It’s good that movies like this exist to increase awareness about incredible human cruelty, but it’s unbearable for me to watch…

    Rosie, was *The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom* one that you watched? I saw the trailer and it looks very good.

  9. shoreacres says:

    Personally, I rather favor the Greek, which has two words for time. One, chronos, we know because of chronology and other such words. It’s time-ticked-off-on-a-clock, that time we never have enough of, time moving from past to present to future.

    But there’s another word – kairos that communicates a different sort of time – event-filled time, time that comes to us from the future. Our expression “when the time is right” would be translated kairos by the Greeks.

    A scheduled caesarian-birth is all chronos. A baby arriving in its own good time is kairos. I love the differences between these words – thanks for giving me a nudge to think about them again this morning!

    And I love documentaries, of all sorts. I’m glad to know about these.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Linda,
      Thank you so very much for explaining the difference between two Greek words. Your comments are always filled with such interesting information. I know Chronos but I hadn’t heard of Kairos

  10. munchow says:

    Times is definitely hard pressed when you blog. But time is relative, if we let ourselves get stress by time, we quickly get into a bad circle. We in the west ought to have a more relaxed relationship to time. Anyway, thanks for the recommendation of Saving Face.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Otto,
      I hope you get to see “Saving Face”
      Remember that these documentaries are the short ones. I think that means they’re less than 45 minutes. We haven’t seen the longer ones. I’m sure they must be equally moving.

      Talking about movies, I loved your movie ABC in your “Rain” post.

  11. mark says:

    When you really think about it… time is all we have. It is how we spend the little we have that really matters. The question is..how do we prioritize such a thing? How many times do we find ourselves doing things we really don’t care for.. and how many people find themselves “killing” time.. what a tragic concept. As a child I couldn’t wait to have a watch of my very own. But ironically as an adult.. I never wear one. As we all know time waits for no one (how shrewd) so with that in mind I refuse to be a slave to it :)

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi Mark,
      Oh yes so true that “time is all we have”…
      I feel sad that I waste so much precious time at work. Why is it that at work the day drags by so slowly, it feels as if “time stands still”, but when we’re on vacation the hours speed by?

      I respect that you don’t wear a watch. But I’m sure that you don’t manage entirely without a timepiece like your phone nearby?
      If you’re not a slave to a watch you’re lucky. Could you spend an entire “working” week without using a watch?

  12. Priya says:

    Time. It’s so subjective. While we rage against the ticking clock, trying to survive this world we’ve created, we couldn’t possibly be blamed for it. And yet, those who chuck away their time-tellers and stop to look at, not all, but just a few sights, are the ones who succeed in really living. They could be a part of any culture — the forests of the Amazon or the jungles of Manhattan. Who knows where they are? They just choose — stopwatch or kairos as shoreacres points out.

    My country has recently been labelled as the most unsafe one for a girl child. It matters not whether this survey is authentic, or its results believable. The fact remains that our culture has deteriorated to abysmal levels. A culture that was originally based on equality amongst the two genders. Ours is a life in the Dark Ages, Rosie. I wonder when and how we’ll find our Renaissance.

    • dearrosie says:

      My dear Priya
      It pains me to hear that India’s the most unsafe country for a girl child, and that you feel you’re still living in the Dark Ages.

      I feel your Renaissance is just around the corner. I think of you and AIT, and Nandini, and Sharma, and all the other female bloggers I’ve met through you who are slowly one post at a time quietly showing your fellow citizens that women count.

      The thought of chucking away all my clocks and living with the sun sounds very tempting. I’d love to wake up without an alarm clock, eat when I felt hungry, drink a coffee when I felt like one.

      • Priya says:

        We — me, AIT, Nandini, Shama — are just a very small minority, Rosie. Our kind are almost never touched by gender discrimination or horrific acts. The majority (India’s a vast, huge country) lives in a world you and I will never get to venture into. Our kind has always been there, and will always be. The idea is to reduce the number of what is now a frustrating sea of women in some villages and cities.

      • dearrosie says:

        Priya, when I read your response I felt very small, and my eyes filled with water. Having never been to India I cannot imagine the indignity of having to live under those inhumane conditions. ((((Sigh))))

        A the end of the documentary “Saving Faces” the Pakistan Parliament passes a bill that imposes “Life Sentences” on the men who throw acid on their wives. We all cheered, but as most of the women are too scared to take their husbands to court, I wonder whether it’ll do anything to stop the acid attacks…

  13. jakesprinter says:

    Great post you have here my friend very interesting :)

  14. dearrosie says:

    I’m delighted to pass the news that “Saving Face” won the Oscar for best short documentary.

    I hope you manage to see the movie, and that the publicity of the Oscar will help put a stop to this barbaric behavior.

  15. It’s like reading my thoughts, just way better. Time is something that flies so fast. Before the I could spell “begin,” certain things have already ended. I too wish I have more time to be with my family, to have fun, to enjoy things I enjoy like blogging and sharing, and more. I guess all we can do is make the most of everything. That we should make each minute counts. Thanks for sharing a wonderful post.

    • dearrosie says:

      Hi and welcome Island Traveler,
      I like your line: before you can spell “begin” certain things have already ended.

      When we know what we want i.e more time with our families, more time to do the things we like doing, why do the minutes and hours and days just slip through our fingers? Look at the calender – it’s already the 3rd month of the year!

  16. shamasheikh says:

    Rosie…So very happy to read that you not only saw “Saving Face” but thought it was Oscar worthy…it has since won the Oscar and has raised the bar for working women in our subcontinent…as Priya has so rightly pointed out, we are an abysmally small percentage, leading very privileged lives and thankfully in the main unaffected by gender discrimination and horrific acts…but…as Sharmeen pointed out in her acceptance speech at the Oscars…this is for all of us women who are working in Pakistan in a myriad of projects and battles and who have a dream…we have to keep working to change the status quo…and we will…the bill imposing Life sentences is a small step in the right direction…

    • dearrosie says:

      Always a pleasure to welcome you to my blog Shama,
      I believe that each small step in the right direction will bring about the change that is desperately needed for women in so many countries of the world, and I agree that a life sentence for the acid throwing monsters is a huge first step.

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment

