I wrote another “Etheree” poem: “Wise Woman”

the 'Wise Woman' on the beach

Here’s another Etheree poem written by yours truly, which I call Wise Woman.

If you’re new to my blog, or have forgotten what an Etheree poem is, I’ll  repeat what I wrote before:   It’s a little-known poetry format created about twenty years ago by an Arkansas poet named Etheree Taylor Armstrong,  just ten lines long, uncomplicated, unpretentious, and non-rhyming, it starts with a line of one syllable, then adds one syllable per line, until the last line of ten syllables, for an overall syllable count of 55.

Wise Woman

Wise

Woman

at soixante.

Imagine that

before Jane Fonda

I’d be called a crone

locked away, forgotten…

I wear my gray hair, my wrinkles

with pride. I earned them honestly.

Now this rose, a late bloomer, will blossom

*

My friend Dinah said one can also write an Etheree starting at line ten and going backwards, so here it is.  What do you think?

Now this rose, a late bloomer, will blossom

with pride. I earned them honestly.

I wear my grey hair, my wrinkles

locked away, forgotten…

I’d be called a crone

before Jane Fonda

Imagine that

at soixante.

Woman

Wise

*

In case you’re interested, I’ve written one other Etheree poem, called Rain

 

Blossoms of an evergreen pear (Pyrus kawakamii) I pass driving to work.

Withthanks to E fullstop for helping me identify these flowering pear trees

About dearrosie

We think we need so much, when all we really need is time to breathe. Come walk with me, put one foot in front of the other, and get to know yourself. Please click the link to my blog - below - and leave me a comment. I love visitors.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I wrote another “Etheree” poem: “Wise Woman”

  1. Brava, Rosie. Happy, happy birthday to you! xo

  2. Mahalia says:

    lovely! what a great way to start your birthday 🙂 here is a quote for you, from Erin, from Anais Nin: “And the day came when the risk to remain in the bud was more painful than the risk it took to bloom.”

  3. E fullstop says:

    Soixante? I don’t believe it! Is there a fountain of youth hidden somewhere in L.A? Well, happiest happy, my fellow Aquarian!

  4. Linda Shapiro says:

    Rosie, my friend for 54 years. You never were one to worry about wrinkles and other such nonsense. Why run away from the inevitable. You’re amazing!
    Happy soixante. I am right behind you, so don’t trip.

    • dearrosie says:

      Merci Linda. Goodness we’ve been friends for a long time! The best advice I can give you on preparing for the inevitable day when soixante taps you on the shoulder, is not to look behind you. Thanks to Jane Fonda, the future is ours n’est-ce pas?

  5. Val Erde says:

    Happy birthday! And love the poem/s.
    🙂

  6. Reuben says:

    Lovely poems, woman on the beach. Here’s mine:
    The tide scours the sand,
    twining rivulets prove a stone’s last stand,
    impressions of toes, heels and arches
    wait behind the feet that left them
    evidence of weight, speed and direction
    Important until the tide returns.

  7. dearrosie says:

    That’s really lovely Reuben. I am honored that you shared it here with us.

  8. Jo says:

    To Etheree or not …
    Wonderful poems
    Merci for sharing your Soixante with Moi.
    It was a wonderful day!

  9. bronxboy55 says:

    Beautiful poem and great photos, too, Rosie.

  10. Pingback: Japan, I weep with you | Wondering Rose

  11. Pingback: 10-line Poem Challenge #18: Reversed Etheree – Dark Side of the Moon

I'd be delighted if you left me a comment